49.2 F

Coral Springs Charter’s Ally Muraskin Named 2017 Miss Softball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 15) – Senior pitcher Ally Muraskin of Coral Springs Charter School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2017 Miss Softball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

Muraskin, who has signed to play college softball at the University of Central Florida, paced her squad to its third straight state title with a sparkling 30-1 record while posting an amazing 0.26 earned run average. She struck out 269 batters in 161 innings. Muraskin dominated her opponents in the state Final Four, allowing only seven hits and no earned runs while striking out 19 batters in 14 innings pitched, closing out her prep career with an 80-4 record.

Muraskin, who previously was selected as the Class 5A Player of the Year for the second straight year, tallied 94 points and garnered seven of the 17 first-place votes to edge out Class 2A POY Taylor Bump of Canterbury, who had four first-place votes and 87 points. Finishing in third with five first-place votes and 72 points was Class 6A POY Callie Turner of Land O’Lakes followed by Class 7A POY Hannah Perkins of Fort Myers (39), Class 8A POY Kelsey Sweatt of Oakleaf (31) and Class 9A POY Morgan Arcia of West Orange (24). Rounding out the voting were Class 1A POY Devin Lewis of Union County (15), Class 3A POY Ashley Rosado of John Carroll (12) and Class 4A POY Victoria Perez of Westminster Christian (5).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 25th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) – Area winners in bold
Player Total Points 1st-place votes
Ally Muraskin, Coral Springs Charter 94 7
Taylor Bump, Canterbury 87 4
Callie Turner, Land O’Lakes 72 5
Hannah Perkins, Fort Myers 39 0
Kelsey Sweatt, Oakleaf 31 1
Morgan Arcia, West Orange 24 0
Devin Lewis, Union County 15 0
Ashley Rosado, John Carroll 12 0
Victoria Perez, Westminster Christian 5 0

Past Miss Softball Winners:

1993 – Jodi Hughes, Palmetto (Fast Pitch)
Mary Babb, Barron Collier (Slow Pitch)
1994 – Jean Bonnici, Naples
1995 – Monica Triner, East Bay
1996 – Michelle Moschel, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Jacksonville Mandarin
1998 – Jennifer Gladding, Martin County
1999 – Jennifer Joiner, Bell
2000 – Claire Sua, St. Thomas Aquinas
2001 – Julie Henneke, Sickles
2002 – Erin Horn, Tallahassee Leon
2003 – Stacey Stevens, Gainesville Buchholz
2004 – Allison Kime, Valrico Bloomingdale
2005 – Dani Hofer, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek
2007 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek
2008 – Kelly Saco, Miami Palmetto
2009 – Erin Schuppert, Neptune Beach Fletcher
2010 – Kasey Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Emily Sanders, Bartow
2012 – Shelby Turnier, Palm Beach Gardens
2013 – Stephanie Texeira, Gulliver Preparatory School
2014 – Korina Rosario, West Florida
2015 – Morgan White, Ocala Forest
2016—Lauren Mathis, West Orange

Related articles

Recent articles

%d bloggers like this: