74.3 F

Oakleaf’s Thompson Named 2017 Softball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 15) – Christina Thompson of Oakleaf High School (Orange Park) has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2017 Softball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

In her seventh year at Oakleaf, Thompson guided the Knights to a 30-2 record and the 2017 Class 8A state championship. This year’s magical run was capped by a convincing 6-1 win over Wellington in the state final after a dominating 10-0 victory over St. Thomas Aquinas in the state semifinals. In her seven years at Oakleaf, Thompson has a 150-48 record.

Thompson, who previously was selected as the Class 8A COY, won the overall award with five of the 17 first-place votes and 79 points, to finish ahead of Class 9A COY and the 2016 state coach of the year Todd LaNeave of West Orange, who had three first-place votes and 73 points. Class 5A COY Mark Montimurro of Coral Springs Charter (62) finished third, followed in order by Class 7A COY Johnny Manetta of Ft. Myers (52), Class 2A COY Jody Moore of Canterbury (47), Class 6A COY Mitch Wilkins of Land O’Lakes (42), Class 1A COY Andrew Strickland of Union County (24), Class 4A COY Scott Doan of Westminster Christian (17) and Class 3A COY Rico Rosado of John Carroll (12). All nine finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 25th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Coach Total Points 1st-place votes (Area winners in bold)
Christina Thompson, Oakleaf 79 5
Todd LaNeave, West Orange 73 3
Mark Montimurro, Coral Springs Charter 62 3
Johnny Manetta, Fort Myers 52 2
Jody Moore, Canterbury 47 2
Mitch Wilkins, Land O’Lakes 42 2
Andrew Strickland, Union County 24 0
Scott Doan, Westminster Christian 17 0
Rico Rosado, John Carroll 12 0

Past Softball Coaches of the Year:

1993 – Jean King, Niceville (Slow Pitch)
Marilyn Bevetta, Ridgewood (Fast Pitch)
1994 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1995 – Leslie Black, Cardinal Mooney
1996 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Jacksonville Mandarin
1998 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
1999 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2000 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2001 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2002 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2003 – Becker Downie, Miami Palmetto
2004 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2005 – Chuck Poetter, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2007 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2008 – Coy Adkins, Wewahitchka
2009 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2010 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Danny Hensley, Niceville
2012 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2013 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2014 – Amanda Schuerman, Bloomingdale
2015 – Melinda Wyatt, Tate
2016 – Todd LaNeave, West Orange

Related articles

Recent articles