77.9 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Softball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerOcala Forest’s Morgan White Named 2015 Miss Softball

GAINESVILLE (June 4) – Junior pitcher Morgan White of Forest High School (Ocala) has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Miss Softball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

White, who has committed to play college softball at Florida Gulf Coast, paced the Wildcats to the 2015 Class 6A state title with a sparking 29-2 record in the circle with a 1.65 ERA. In 198 innings of work, she struck out 335 batters. She also was a standout in the batter’s box, hitting .410 with 12 home runs and 58 RBI.

White, who previously was selected as the Class 6A Player of the Year, tallied 155 points and garnered 10 of the 19 first-place votes awarded en route to winning this year’s overall award.

Finishing as runner-up was Class 7A POY Victoria Perkins of Cantonment Tate (123), while Class 4A POY Allison Muraskin of Coral Springs Charter (112) finished third. Rounding out the voting in order were Class 8A POY Samantha Worrell of Hagerty (89), Class 5A POY Jenna Goodrich of Plantation American Heritage (74), Class 2A POY Danielle Romanello of St. Petersburg Canterbury (68), Class 3A POY Ally Mena of Westminster Christian (56) and Class 1A POY Lauren Stalvey of Chiefland (40).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) (Area winners in bold)

Player _______Total Points _ 1st-place votes
Morgan White, Forest (Ocala) 155 10
Victoria Perkins, Tate 123 4
Allison Muraskin, Coral Springs Charter 112 4
Samantha Worrell, Hagerty 89 1
Jenna Goodrich, American Heritage 74 0
Danielle Romanello, St. Pte Canterbury 68 0
Ally Mena, Westminster Christian 56 0
Lauren Stalvey, Chiefland 40 0

Past Miss Softball Winners:

1993 – Jodi Hughes, Palmetto (Fast Pitch)
Mary Babb, Barron Collier (Slow Pitch)
1994 – Jean Bonnici, Naples
1995 – Monica Triner, East Bay
1996 – Michelle Moschel, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Mandarin (Jacksonville)
1998 – Jennifer Gladding, Martin County
1999 – Jennifer Joiner, Bell
2000 – Claire Sua, St. Thomas Aquinas
2001 – Julie Henneke, Sickles
2002 – Erin Horn, Tallahassee Leon
2003 – Stacey Stevens, Buchholz (Gainesville)
2004 – Allison Kime, Valrico Bloomingdale
2005 – Dani Hofer, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Kelsi Dunne, Spruce Creek (Port Orange)
2007 – Kelsi Dunne, Spruce Creek (Port Orange)
2008 – Kelly Saco, Miami Palmetto
2009 – Erin Schuppert, Fletcher (Neptune Beach)
2010 – Kasey Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Emily Sanders, Bartow
2012 – Shelby Turnier, Palm Beach Gardens
2013 – Stephanie Texeira, Gulliver Preparatory School
2014 – Korina Rosario, West Florida

Related articles

Recent articles