74.8 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Baseball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerMosley’s Dillon Brown Named 2015 Mr. Baseball

GAINESVILLE (June 10) – Senior pitcher Dillon Brown of Mosley High School in Lynn Haven has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Mr. Baseball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

Brown, who has committed to play football at Samford University, but is now considering baseball scholarship offers from several schools including the University of Alabama, led the Dolphins to the 2015 Class 5A state championship game with a sparking 14-0 record and a miniscule 0.28 ERA. He had 11 shutouts, gave up only three earned runs all season, and had a streak of 48 consecutive scoreless innings while striking out 84 batters in 76 innings pitched. Brown also was a standout in the batter’s box, hitting .426 with 27 RBI.

Brown, who previously was selected as the Class 5A Player of the Year, tallied 140 points and garnered eight of the 18 first-place votes en route to winning this year’s overall award. Finishing as runner-up was Class 6A POY Cole Kragel of Venice (130), while Class 8A POY Chris Coipel of Miami Columbus (102) finished third. Rounding out the voting in order were Class 7A POY Deacon Liput of Oviedo (82), Class 4A POY Isaiah Cullum of South Sumter (78), Class 3A POY Nate Pearson of Bishop McLaughlin (66), Class 1A POY Austin Langworthy of Williston (54) and Class 2A POY Evan Holland of Bayshore Christian (32).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) (Area winners in bold)

Player Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Dillon Brown, Mosley 140 8
Cole Kragel, Venice 130 6
Chris Coipel, Miami Columbus 102 0
Deacon Liput, Oviedo 82 2
Isaiah Cullum, South Sumter (Bushnell) 78 1
Nate Pearson, Bishop McLaughlin 66 1
Austin Langworthy, Williston 54 0
Evan Holland, Bayshore Christian 32 0

Past Mr. Baseball Winners:

1993 – Alex Rodriguez, Miami Westminster
1994 – Doug Million, Sarasota
1995 – Doug Blosser, Sarasota
1996 – Nick Stocks, Tampa Jesuit
1997 – Geoff Geotz, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Felipe Lopez, Lake Brantley
1999 – Bobby Bradley, Wellington
2000 – Tony Richie, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Casey Kotchman, Seminole
2002 – Edgar Ramirez, Miami Southridge
2003 – James Houser, Sarasota
2004 – Warren McFadden, Davie Nova
2005 – Andrew McCutchen, Fort Meade
2006 – Max Sapp, Orlando Bishop Moore
2007 – Michael Main, Deland
2008 – Casey Kelly, Sarasota
2009 – Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey Mitchell
2010 – C. T. Bradford, Pace
2011 – Jose Fernandez, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Lance McCullers, Jr., Tampa Jesuit
2013 – Tyler Danish, Plant City
2014 – Brian Gonzalez, Archbishop McCarthy

Related articles

Recent articles

%d bloggers like this: