73.1 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Soccer


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release
Contact: David Stirt at 352-332-3778 or dstirt@bellsouth.net● www.floridamilk.com

Melanie Monteagudo Named 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Soccer

GAINESVILLE (March 20) – Melanie Monteagudo of Class 3A state champion American Heritage School in Plantation has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Miss Soccer following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of girls’ high school soccer coaches and media representatives.

Monteagudo, a senior forward who has signed with the University of Florida, won the 2014 Miss Soccer award and becomes the third two-time winner of the honor in the 23-year history of the awards program, joining Brianna Schooley (2005-06) and Dara Spital (2010-11).

Monteagudo led the Patriots to a 22-1-2 record and their third straight state championship by scoring 34 goals and adding 21 assists, a year after setting a Broward County record by scoring 63 goals. She finished her high school career with 152 goals and 77 assists.
Monteagudo, who was previously selected as the 3A Player of the Year, tallied 150 points in winning this year’s award. Class 4A POY Emily Madril, a sophomore from Navarre, was second with 131 points, followed in order by Class 1A POY Chelsea Burns, a senior from Orange Park St. John’s Country Day (110); Class 2A POY Leah Ferlin, a sophomore from The Bolles School (Jacksonville) (80); and Class 5A POY Dallas Dorosy, a senior from St. Thomas Aquinas (59).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23nd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5-3-1 basis)
Player 1 2 3 4 5 Total
Melanie Monteagudo 10 2 3 3 2 150
Emily Madril 7 4 3 6 0 131
Chelsea Burns 2 7 6 3 2 110
Leah Ferlin 0 4 7 4 5 80
Dallas Dorosy 1 3 1 4 11 59

Past Miss Soccer Winners (Area winners in bold)
1993 – Stacia Masters, Tampa Leto
1994 – Robin Cofer, Clearwater Central Catholic
1995 – Jill Ford, Orange Park
1996 – Gina Foster, St. Thomas Aquinas
1997 – Andrea Sellers, Satellite Beach
1998 – Alexis Mackenzie, St. Thomas Aquinas
1999 – Aly Benitez, Lake Brantley
2000 – Nandi Pryce, Lake Howell
2001 – Annie Adams, Gulf Breeze
2002 – Holly Ryder, Plantation American Heritage
2003 – Alison Tradd, Lake Mary
2004 – Ashlyn Harris, Satellite
2005 – Brianna Schooley, Parkland Douglas
2006 – Brianna Schooley, Parkland Douglas
2007 – Ella Stephan, Satellite
2008 – Kayla Grimsley, Lakeland George Jenkins
2009 – Kristen Grubka, Melbourne
2010 – Dara Spital, Miami Gulliver Prep
2011 – Dara Spital, Miami Gulliver Prep
2012 – Carson Pickett, Orange Park St. John’s Country Day
2013 – Tabitha Tindell, Ocala Trinity Catholic
2014 – Melanie Monteagudo, Plantation American Heritage

Related articles

Recent articles