81.5 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Soccer


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release
Contact: David Stirt @ 352-332-3778 or dstirt@bellsouth.net ● www.floridamilk.com

Bishop Kenny’s Trey Langlois Named 2015 Mr. Soccer

GAINESVILLE (March 24) – Senior Trey Langlois from Bishop Kenny High School has been selected as the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Soccer following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school boys’ soccer coaches and media representatives.

Langlois, a midfielder who has signed to play college soccer for Clemson University, led the state in goals scored this season with 69 and added 24 assists. After scoring a combined 68 goals in his first three seasons of high school soccer, while playing only partial seasons because he played on the Bishop Kenny football team, Langlois bypassed his senior year of football to concentrate on soccer, and his increased scoring numbers were a direct result of his decision.

Langlois, previously selected as the Class 2A Player of the Year, tallied 128 points in winning this year’s award. Class 3A POY Shane Nicholson from Choctawhatchee was runnerup with 117 points, followed in order by Class 4A POY James Gilliard (90) of Tallahassee Chiles, Class 1A POY Joey Dotson (58) of Santa Fe Catholic, and Class 5A POY Santiago Patino (49) of Freedom.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5-3-1 basis)
Player 1 2 3 4 5 Total

Trey Langlois 9 2 3 3 0 128
Shane Nicholson 4 8 3 2 0 117
James Gilliard 3 3 4 6 1 90
Joey Dotson 1 1 4 5 6 58
Santiago Patino 0 3 3 1 10 49

Past Mr. Soccer Winners (Area winners in bold)

1993 – Frankie Cipolla, Longwood Lyman
1994 – Michael McIlwane, Tampa Berkeley Prep
1995 – Kevin Alvero, Dunedin
1996 – Chris Welling, Naples
1997 – Mark Pizzulo, St. Thomas Aquinas
1998 – Sheldon Barnes, St. Thomas Aquinas
1999 – Jeremy Plokemba, Tampa Jesuit
2000 – Rob Daly, Tampa Jesuit
2001 – Justin Brandt, Miami Sunset
2002 – Hunter West, Bradenton Manatee
2003 – Jason Poole, Brandon
2004 – Tyler Davis, Tampa Berkeley Prep
2005 – Fabrice Noel, Palm Beach Lakes
2006 – Hansen Woodruff, South Fork
2007 – Eugene Starikov, Palm Harbor University
2008 – Luis Yamashita, Miami Varela
2009 – Ryan Price, Melbourne
2010 – Colby Burdette, Boca Raton
2011 – Verneri Valimaa, Delray American Heritage
2012 – Luis Betancur, Plantation American Heritage
2013 – Shaddy Douidar, Tampa Preparatory School
2014 – Remington Pimm, Sunlake

Related articles

Recent articles