74.6 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Baseball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerVenice’s Craig Faulkner Named 2015 Baseball Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (June 10) – Craig Faulkner of Venice High School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Baseball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

In his 17th year at Venice, Faulkner guided the Indians to a 29-3 record and the 2015 Class 6A state championship. The state championship was the third in the past four years for Faulkner and his fourth overall (2007-12-13-15). Faulkner’s career record of 362-156 also includes three other appearances in the state Final Four.

Faulkner, who previously was selected as the Class 6A COY, won the overall award with 142 points, to finish ahead of Class 5A COY Rich Bielski of Archbishop McCarthy (126) and Class 8A COY Joe Weber of Miami Columbus (104). Class 7A COY Harold Hitt of Oviedo (98) finished fourth, followed in order by Class 1A COY Scott Hall of Williston (86), Class 3A COY Emil Castellanos of Westminster Christian (72), Class 4A COY Gil Morales of Trinity Christian (70) and Class 2A COY Pedro Guerra of Miami Brito (62). All eight finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan. 

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) (Area winners in bold)

Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Craig Faulkner, Venice 142 6
Rich Bielski, Archbishop McCarthy 126 5
Joe Weber, Miami Columbus 104 2
Harold Hitt, Oviedo 98 2
Scott Hall, Williston 86 0
Emil Castellanos, Westminster Christian 72 2
Gil Morales, Trinity Christian (Jacksonville) 70 1
Pedro Guerra, Miami Brito 62 0

Past Baseball Coach Winners:

1993 – Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota
1994 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1995 – John Carpenter, Lakeland Santa Fe
1996 – Rich Hoffman, Miami Westminster
1997 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Howard May, Terry Parker (Jacksonville)
1999 – Scott Benedict, Wellington
2000 – Bob West, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2002 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2003 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
2004 – Pat McQuaid, Davie Nova
2005 – Ralph Henriquez, Key West
2006 – Scott Benedict, Palm Beach Central
2007 – Dave Wheeler, Orlando Bishop Moore
2008 – Tom Hilbert, Dunedin
2009 – Rick Turner, Naples
2010 – Charlie Warner, Pace
2011 – Landy Faedo, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Johnny Goodrich, Spruce Creek (Port Orange)
2013 – Richard Labounty, Pensacola Catholic
2014 – Fred Burnside, South Dade

Related articles

Recent articles