79.1 F

Vernon Carey Jr. Named 2019 Florida Mr. Basketball


GAINESVILLE (March 28) – Vernon Carey Jr., a senior at NSU University School of Ft. Lauderdale, has been named the 2019 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball in a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

Carey, who also won the Florida Mr. Basketball award last year, becomes the sixth player to win the honor multiple times in the 37-year history of the award, joining three-time winner Joel Berry (2012-14) and two-time winners Brandon Knight (2009-10), Nick Calathes (2006-07), Steve Edwards (1991-92) and Chris Corchiani (1986-87).

The McDonald’s All-America and Duke University signee, who earlier this month was named the Class 5A Player-of-the-Year, averaged 21.7 points and 9.0 rebounds per game in helping his team to its second consecutive Class 5A state championship.

Carey tallied 15 of the 23 first-place votes and 171 points to finish ahead of Class 9A POY C.J. Walker of Oak Ridge, who had three first-place votes and 115 points. Class 4A POY Chase Johnston of Westminster Academy finished third with two first place votes and 74 points followed by Class 8A POY Max Fiedler of Melbourne (58), Class 7A POY Devin Carter of Doral Academy (51), Class 6A POY Isaiah Adams of Paxon School (44), Class 1A POY Marcus Niblack of Wildwood (37), Class 3A POY Michael Gavin of Lake Mary Prep (27) and Class 2A POY Jordan Preaster of Central Florida Christian Academy (21).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. These awards honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2019 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Area winners in bold)
Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Vernon Carey Jr. 171 15
C.J. Walker 115 3
Chase Johnston 74 2
Max Fiedler 58 1
Devin Carter 51 0
Isaiah Adams 44 1
Marcus Niblack 37 1
Michael Gavin 27 0
Jordan Preaster 21 0

NOTE: The Mr. Basketball Award was sponsored by Florida Sports News, Inc., from 1983 to 1992

Past Mr. Basketball Winners:

1983 – Frank Ford, Kissimmee Osceola
1984 – Vernon Maxwell, Gainesville Buchholz
1985 – Toney Mack, Brandon
1986 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1987 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1988 – Johnny Walker, Quincy Shanks
1989 – Douglas Edwards, Miami Senior
1990 – Clifford Rozier, Bradenton Southeast
1991 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1992 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1993 – James Collins, Jacksonville Jackson
1994 – LeRon Williams, Bradenton Southeast
1995 – Vince Carter, Daytona Beach Mainland
1996 – Luke Barnes, South Miami
1997 – Jason Pryor, Fort Walton Beach
1998 – Teddy Dupay, Cape Coral Mariner
1999 – Casey Sanders, Tampa Prep
2000 – Orien Greene, Gainesville
2001- Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2002 – Amare Stoudemire, Orlando Cypress Creek
2003 – Chris Richard, Lakeland Kathleen
2004 – Darius Washington, Orlando Edgewater
2005 – Keith Brumbaugh, Deland
2006 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2007 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2008 – Ray Shipman, Miami Monsignor Pace
2009 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2010 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2011 – Austin Rivers, Winter Park
2012 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2013 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2014 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2015 – Antonio Blakeney, Orlando Oak Ridge
2016 – Tony Bradley, Bartow
2017 – Kevin Knox, Tampa Catholic
2018 – Vernon Carey, Jr., NSU University School

Related articles

Recent articles