84.6 F

Vernon Carey Jr. Named 2018 Florida Mr. Basketball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (March 26) – Vernon Carey Jr., a junior at NSU University School of Ft. Lauderdale, has been named the 2018 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

Carey, who earlier this month was named the Class 5A Player-of-the-Year, averaged 26.1 points, 10.4 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game while leading his team to the Class 5A state championship.

He tallied 10 of the 21 first-place votes and 136 points to finish ahead of Class 3A POY Nassir Little of Orlando Christian Prep, who had seven first-place votes and 118 points.

Class 8A POY Serrel Smith of St. Petersburg finished third with three first place votes and 86 points followed by Class 9A POY Emmitt Williams of Oak Ridge (64), Class 6A POY Elijah Weaver of Rockledge (41), Class 4A POY Zachary Scott of Westminster Academy (32), Class 2A POY Neftali Alvarez of Miami Christian (27), Class 7A POY Colin Castleton of Daytona Beach Father Lopez (23) and Class 1A POY Kevon Godwin of Blountstown (17).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Area players in bold)
Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Vernon Carey Jr. 136 10
Nassir Little 118 7
Serrel Smith 86 3
Emmitt Williams 64 0
Elijah Weaver 41 0
Zachary Scott 32 1
Neftali Alvarez 27 0
Colin Castleton 23 0
Kevon Godwin 17 0

NOTE: The Mr. Basketball Award was sponsored by Florida Sports News, Inc., from 1983 to 1992

Past Mr. Basketball Winners:

1983 – Frank Ford, Kissimmee Osceola
1984 – Vernon Maxwell, Gainesville Buchholz
1985 – Toney Mack, Brandon
1986 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1987 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1988 – Johnny Walker, Quincy Shanks
1989 – Douglas Edwards, Miami Senior
1990 – Clifford Rozier, Bradenton Southeast
1991 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1992 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1993 – James Collins, Jacksonville Jackson
1994 – LeRon Williams, Bradenton Southeast
1995 – Vince Carter, Daytona Beach Mainland
1996 – Luke Barnes, South Miami
1997 – Jason Pryor, Fort Walton Beach
1998 – Teddy Dupay, Cape Coral Mariner
1999 – Casey Sanders, Tampa Prep
2000 – Orien Greene, Gainesville
2001- Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2002 – Amare Stoudemire, Orlando Cypress Creek
2003 – Chris Richard, Lakeland Kathleen
2004 – Darius Washington, Orlando Edgewater
2005 – Keith Brumbaugh, Deland
2006 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2007 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2008 – Ray Shipman, Miami Monsignor Pace
2009 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2010 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2011 – Austin Rivers, Winter Park
2012 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2013 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2014 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2015 – Antonio Blakeney, Orlando Oak Ridge
2016 – Tony Bradley, Bartow
2017 – Kevin Knox, Tampa Catholic

Related articles

Recent articles