80.5 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball and Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release: March 18, 2015
Contact: David Stirt @ 352-332-3778 or dstirt@bellsouth.net ● www.floridamilk.com

GAINESVILLE (March 18) — The nine individual class finalists for the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball and Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year have been announced following balloting by a statewide panel of high school boys’ basketball coaches and media members.

Every finalist was the leading vote-getter in their classification, making each one the Player of the Year or Coach of the Year in their class. The two overall winners will be announced following a final round of balloting by coaches and media.

Following are the nine finalists for the Mr. Basketball Award:

Antonio Blakeney, Senior, Guard, Orlando Oak Ridge, Class 8A Player of the Year
Blakeney, a McDonald’s All-America and LSU commit, averaged 29.0 points, 6.9 rebounds and 2.7 assists
per game in leading his team to a 22-7 record and a spot in the regional finals.

Matt Milon, Senior, Guard, Oviedo, Class 7A Player of the Year
The Boston College signee and repeat Class 7A Player-of-the-Year averaged 22.0 points and 6.0 rebounds per game in leading Oviedo to a 25-6 record and a spot in the Final Four.

Dewan Huell, Junior, Forward, Miami Norland, Class 6A Player of the Year
A dominant player inside, Huell led Norland to its fourth straight state title by averaging 19.2 points, 9.0 rebounds and 4.0 blocks per game.

Maverick Rowan, Junior, Guard, Cardinal Gibbons, Class 5A Player of the Year
Rowan led his team to a 32-1 record and the state championship by averaging 28.5 points, 7.0 rebounds,
4.0 assists, 2.5 steals and 1.7 blocks per game.

John Collins, Senior, Forward, Cardinal Newman, Class 4A Player of the Year
The Wake Forest signee led his team to a 27-2 record and a spot in the state championship game by averaging 20.4 points and 10.1 rebounds per game.

Ryan McMahon, Senior, Guard, Cardinal Mooney, Class 3A Player of the Year
The Louisville commit led his team to a 26-4 record and a spot in the Final Four by averaging 26.4 points, 3.3 assists, 3.0 rebounds, and 2.5 steals per game while shooting 51% from 3-point range and 83% at the free throw line.

Marquill Smith, Senior, Guard, Miami Christian, Class 2A Player of the Year
Smith, a University of San Francisco commit, led his team to a 27-3 record and the state championship by averaging 22.0 points, 4.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game.

Trent Forrest, Junior, Guard, Chipley, Class 1A Player of the Year
Forrest led his team to a 28-3 record and the state championship by averaging 28.9 points, 8.1 rebounds and 5.3 assists. He scored 65 points, had 20 rebounds and added 12 assists in his two state tourney games.

Ben Simmons, Senior, Forward, Montverde Academy, Independent/Non-District Player of the Year
The McDonald’s All-America and LSU signee averaged 28.0 points, 11.9 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 1.5 blocks per game in leading his team to a 28-1 record.

Following are the nine finalists for Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year:

Matt Colin, Wellington, Class 8A Coach of the Year
In his 7th season at Wellington, Colin led his squad to a 30-3 record and the school’s first state title. He has an overall record of 128-64.

Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely, Class 7A Coach of the Year
Randall led his team to a 28-0 record and Ely’s third state championship in four years. It was his fourth state title at Ely to go along with a pair of state titles at Deerfield Beach. In his 23-year coaching career, Randall has an overall record of 482-141.

Lawton Williams III, Miami Norland, Class 6A Coach of the Year
In his 12th season, Williams, the 6A coach-of-the-year for the fourth straight year, led the Vikings to a 23-8 record and their fourth consecutive state title, the program’s sixth title under Williams, who’s career record at Norland is 279-82.

Marty Seidlin, Cardinal Gibbons, Class 5A Coach of the Year
Seidlin led his team to a 32-1 record and the first state title in his seven-year tenure at Gibbons. It was his third Final Four appearance at the school, where he has compiled an overall record of 145-43.

Andy Colville, Tallahassee Godby, Class 4A Coach of the Year
In his eighth year at Godby, Colville led his team to Florida’s only unbeaten season, posting a 32-0 record on the way to the state title. It marked his first state title and fourth Final Four appearance during his 16-year career at Godby and Tallahassee Rickards. His overall record is 367-118.

Jim Martin, Providence, Class 3A Coach of the Year
Martin led Providence to a 32-1 record and the state title. It was Martin’s third state championship and fifth Final Four appearance in his 15 years at Providence. His overall record is 406-72.

Andrew Moran, Miami Christian, Class 2A Coach of the Year
In his first year as a head coach, Moran led his team to a 27-3 record and the state championship.

Joey Orlando, Chipley, Class 1A Coach of the Year
Orlando led the Tigers to a 28-3 record and the state title. In his eight years at Chipley, Orlando has led the school to a pair of state titles and three Final Four appearances. His overall record in 16 years at Chipley and Niceville is 274-157.

Kevin Boyle, Montverde Academy, Independent/Non-District Coach of the Year
Boyle has led his team to a 28-1 record and the No. 2 ranking in the USA TODAY national prep poll. In his four years at Montverde, Boyle has an overall record of 105-8.

Final voting numbers by class (top three).  Area winners in bold.

Class 8A
Player School Points
Antonio Blakeney Oak Ridge 114
Kerry Blackshear Evans 67
Denzel Mahoney Hagerty 48

Coach School Points
Matt Colin Wellington 140
Josh Kohn Hagerty 90
Chris Blackwell St. Petersburg 57

Class 7A
Player School Points
Matt Milon Oviedo 93
Laquincy Rideau Blanche Ely 57
Cortez Edwards Osceola 48

Coach School Points
Melvin Randall Blanche Ely 140
Nate Alexander Osceola 83
Ed Kershner Oviedo 44

Class 6A
Player School Points
Dewan Huell Miami Norland 89
Chance McSpadden Winter Haven 74
Haanif Cheatham Pembroke Pines 34

Coach School Points
Lawton Williams III Miami Norland 128
Kelly Beckham Gainesville 87
Eric Hayes Tampa Jefferson 59

Class 5A
Player School Points
Maverick Rowan Cardinal Gibbons 123
Anthony Lawrence St. Pete Lakewood 52
Kevarrius Hayes Suwannee (Live Oak) 51

Coach School Points
Marty Seidlin Cardinal Gibbons 119
Eli Bryant Tallahasee Rickards 69
Jerry Woodka Tarpon Springs 61

Class 4A
Player School Points
John Collins Cardinal Newman 98
C.J. Fisher Monsignor Pace 71
Antonio Vrankovic Pine Crest 41

Coach School Points
Andy Colville Tallahassee Godby 140
Tavarus Harris Cardinal Newman 75
Steve Henderson Holy Trinity 37

Class 3A
Player School Points
Ryan McMahon Cardinal Mooney 114
Prince Ali Weston Sagemont 72
Juwan Durham Tampa Prep 36

Coach School Points
Jim Martin Providence (Jacksonville) 100
Adam Ross Weston Sagemont 80
Stefan Gates Cardinal Mooney 44

Class 2A
Player School Points
Marquill Smith Miami Christian 87
Keith Stone Zion Lutheran 82
Blake Morrow Sarasota Christian 57

Coach School Points
Andrew Moran Miami Christian 111
Victor Floyd Agape Christian 101
Kevin Fields Sarasota Christian 52

Class 1A
Player School Points
Trent Forest Chipley 112
Antwain Johnson Malone 91
Keldric Bradley Hawthorne 61

Coach School Points
Joel Orlando Chipley 137
Greg Bowie Hawthorne 92
Alvin Carter Crescent City 35

Related articles

Recent articles