77.7 F

Florida Dairy Farmers Coach of the Year


Washington’s Tim Harris, Jr., Named 2014 Football Coach-of-the-Year

For Immediate Release
Contact: Jim Harvin at 352-727-4104 or jimharvin@gmail.com ● www.floridamilk.com

Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

GAINESVILLE (December 15) – Head coach Tim Harris, Jr., of Booker T. Washington High School in Miami has been named the 2014 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

In his first season as head coach, Harris, Jr., the Class 4A Coach of the Year and the son of legendary Washington coach and two-time Florida Dairy Farmers Coach-of-the-Year Tim “Ice” Harris (2012, 2013), led the Tornadoes to their second straight 14-0 record, their third straight Class 4A state title and a No. 7 final national ranking. The Tornadoes capped this year’s title run with a 54-35 state championship win over Jacksonville Bolles as the two state powerhouses collided in the 4A state final for the fourth straight year.

Harris, Jr., tallied 176 points en route to winning this year’s award. The real battle was for second place, where Class 5A COY Jamie Rodgers of Suwannee, who led the Bulldogs to their first state semifinal since 1999, tallied 139 points to edge Class 8A COY Devin Bush of Pembroke Pines Flanagan (135), who led the Falcons to their first state semifinal in program history.  Rounding out the voting were Class 6A COY Scott Wilson of state semifinalist Daytona Beach Mainland (125), Class 7A COY Bob Hudson of state semifinalist Tarpon Springs East Lake (121), Class 3A COY Verlon Dorminey of back-to-back state champion Jacksonville Trinity Christian (119), Class 1A COY John Palmer of state champion Port St. Joe (117), and Class 2A COY Mark Buchanan of state runner-up Largo Indian Rocks Christian (94).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports.  The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2014 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis)
Coach Total Points 1st-place Votes

Tim Harris, Jr. 176 11
Jamie Rodgers 139 5
Devin Bush 135 3
Scott Wilson 125 2
Bob Hudson 121 2
Verlon Dorminey 119 2
John Palmer 117 2
Mark Buchanan 94 1

Past Football Coaches of the Year (Area recipients in bold)
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Sandalwood (Jacksonville)
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Union County (Lake Butler)
1997 – Danny Green, Columbia (Lake City)
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa
2010 – Dale Salapa, Orlando Dr. Phillips
2011 – Robert Craft, Tallahassee North Florida Christian
2012 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2013 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington

Related articles

Recent articles