62.6 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Soccer and Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release: March 16, 2015
Contact: David Stirt @ 352-332-3778
Email: dstirt@ bellsouth.net ● www.floridamilk.com

GAINESVILLE (March 16) — The five individual class finalists for the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Soccer and Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year have been announced following balloting by a statewide panel of high school boys’ soccer coaches and prep media representatives.

Every finalist was the leading vote-getter in their classification, making each one the Player of the Year or Coach of the Year in that class. The 2015 Mr. Soccer and Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year will be announced following a final round of balloting by coaches and media.

Following are the five finalists for the 2015 Mr. Soccer Award:

Santiago Patino, Senior, Forward, Freedom (Tampa), Class 5A Player of the Year
Pitino scored 20 goals and added six assists in leading his team to a 19-4-2 record and a spot in the Class 5A Final Four.

James Gilliard Senior, Forward, Chiles, Class 4A Player of the Year
Gilliard scored 26 goals and added 14 assists. He scored the game-winning goal in overtime of the regional final, the only goal in his team’s 1-0 state semifinal win and two goals in the state title game victory over Palm Beach Lakes.

Shane Nicholson, Senior, Forward, Choctawhatchee, Class 3A Player of the Year
Nicholson capped a brilliant senior season by scoring the winning goal in overtime to complete Choctawhatchee’s unbeaten season and give the Indians their first state title. Nicholson finished the year with 50 goals and 36 assists.

Trey Langlois, Senior, Midfield, Bishop Kenny, Class 2A Player of the Year
Langlois, a Clemson signee, led his squad to a district title and the regional semifinals with a state-leading 69 goals and added 24 assists. He finished his career with 136 goals and 75 assists.

Joey Dotson, Junior, Midfield, Santa Fe Catholic, Class 1A Player of the Year
Dotson led his team to a 21-4-3 record and a spot in the state championship game, scoring 30 goals and adding 15 assists. He scored nine game-winning goals and was also a key to his team’s defense from his midfield position.

Following are the five finalists for the 2015 Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year Award:

Colin Ilgner, Cypress Bay, Class 5A Coach of the Year
In his first year at Cypress Bay, Ilgner led the school to a 22-1-2 record and the Class 5A state title. In five years as a head coach, his overall record is 70-36-2.

Bryan Wilkinson, Chiles, Class 4A Coach of the Year
In his 6th year at Chiles, Wilkinson led his squad to a 29-3 record and the state championship. His team scored 128 goals while allowing only 19 goals. His overall record at Chiles is 122-35-13.

Chris McDaniel, Choctawhatchee, Class 3A Coach of the Year
McDaniel’s team won the school’s first state title and finished as the state’s only unbeaten team with a 30-0-1 record.  In his 11 seasons, McDaniel has advanced to the Final Four four times with two runner-up finishes and this year’s title.

Matias Asorey, Gulliver Prep, Class 2A Coach of the Year
Asorey led his squad to its second straight state championship with a 19-1-1 record. In his three years at Gulliver he has won two state titles and finished as the state runnerup (2013). His career record of 107-8-12 also includes a state title at Varela (2008).

Jeff Johnson, Orangewood Christian, Class 1A Coach of the Year
In his 10th year at Orangewood Christian, Johnson made his sixth trip to the Final Four and won his first state title. This year’s 21-1-3 record pushed his overall record to 174-49-27.

Final voting numbers by class (top three): Area players/coaches in bold.

Class 5A
Player School
Santiago Patino Freedom 95
Marc Lozada Riverview 83
Marvellous Olubella Haines City 78

Coach School
Colin Ilgner Cypress Bay 123
Scott Fisher West Orange 93
Chris Dolan Haines City 49

Class 4A
Player School
James Gilliard Chiles 117
Ian Hilderbrandt Chiles 65
Diego Rodea Kathleen 39

Coach School
Bryan Wilkinson Chiles 136
Dave Wilson Wiregrass Ranch 75
Kendall Roberts Palm Beach Lakes 70

Class 3A
Player School
Shane Nicholson Choctawhatchee 157
Connor Spencer Sunlake 76
Danny Hrenko Sunlake 65

Coach School
Chris McDaniel Choctawhatchee 154
Scooty Carey Merritt Island 90
Sam Koleduk Sunlake 47

Class 2A
Player School
Trey Langlois Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville) 105
Andy Alvarez Gulliver Prep 99
Tyler-Miller Jones Eastside (Gainesville) 87

Coach School
Matias Asorey Gulliver Prep 113
Jim Lieb Bolles (Jacksonville) 87
Ron Messick Eastside (Gainesville) 58

Class 1A
Player School
Joey Dotson Santa Fe Catholic 86
Antonio Colacci St. Stephens 82
Chase Gwynn Orangewood Christian 74

Coach School
Jeff Johnson Orangewood Christian 149
Greg Hunt Santa Fe Catholic 107
Marc Jones St. Stephens 64

Related articles

Recent articles

%d bloggers like this: