50.5 F

Douglas Outfielder Roman Anthony Named 2022 Mr. Baseball


GAINESVILLE (June 16) – Senior outfielder Roman Anthony of Douglas High School has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2022 Mr. Baseball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

Anthony, who has signed to play baseball at the University of Mississippi, led his team to the FHSAA Class 7A state championship with a .520 batting average, 14 doubles, 10 home runs, 36 runs scored and 40 runs batted in.

Previously selected the Class 7A Player of the Year, Anthony tallied 159 points and garnered 13 of the 20 first-place votes in winning this year’s overall award. Finishing as runner-up was Class 2A POY Bradley Hodges of St. Johns Country Day (88), while Class 5A POY Wes Mendes of Jesuit finished third (60). Rounding out the voting were Class 4A POY Kevin Martinez of Island Coast (49), Class 6A POY Walter Ford of Pace (43), Class 3A POY Cade Kurland of Berkeley Prep (36) and Class 1A POY Colby Jones of Holmes County (5).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 30th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2022 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)
Area coaches in bold

Player Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Roman Anthony, Douglas 159 13
Bradley Hodges, St. Johns Country Day (Orange Park) 88 3
Wes Mendes, Jesuit 60 1
Kevin Martinez, Island Coast 49 3
Walter Ford, Pace 43 0
Cade Kurland, Berkeley Prep 36 0
Colby Jones, Holmes County 5 0

Past Mr. Baseball Winners:
1993 – Alex Rodriguez, Miami Westminster
1994 – Doug Million, Sarasota
1995 – Doug Blosser, Sarasota
1996 – Nick Stocks, Tampa Jesuit
1997 – Geoff Geotz, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Felipe Lopez, Lake Brantley
1999 – Bobby Bradley, Wellington
2000 – Tony Richie, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Casey Kotchman, Seminole
2002 – Edgar Ramirez, Miami Southridge
2003 – James Houser, Sarasota
2004 – Warren McFadden, Davie Nova
2005 – Andrew McCutchen, Fort Meade
2006 – Max Sapp, Orlando Bishop Moore
2007 – Michael Main, Deland
2008 – Casey Kelly, Sarasota
2009 – Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey Mitchell
2010 – C. T. Bradford, Pace
2011 – Jose Fernandez, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Lance McCullers, Jr., Tampa Jesuit
2013 – Tyler Danish, Plant City
2014 – Brian Gonzalez, Archbishop McCarthy
2015 – Dillon Brown, Mosley
2016—Bo Bichette, Lakewood
2017—Logan Allen, University (Orange City)
2018 – Caleb Roberts, St. Thomas Aquinas
2019 – Parker Messick, Plant City
2020 – No Winner Named
2021 – Deric Fabian, North Marion (Citra)

Related articles

Recent articles