67.4 F

American Heritage Standout Ta’Niya Latson Named 2022 Miss Basketball


GAINESVILLE (March 31) – Ta’Niya Latson of American Heritage School in Plantation has been named the 2022 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Basketball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school coaches and media representatives.

The 5-9 senior guard, who has signed to play college basketball at Florida State University, averaged 27.2 points, 7.0 assists, 8.0 rebounds, 5.3 steals and 2.0 blocks per game. She was named to the McDonald’s All-America team and scored 15 points, had three rebounds plus a blocked shot in 13 minutes of playing time in this week’s McDonald’s All-American game.

Latson, who was earlier named the Class 5A player-of-the-year, received 13 of the 19 first-place votes and 152 points to finish ahead of Class 4A POY Nyla Harris of Lake Highland Prep, who had three first-place votes (92 points), and Class 3A POY Tonie Morgan of Florida High with two first-place votes (61 points).

Class 2A POY Taliah Scott of St. Johns Country Day finished fourth (41), followed by Class 7A POY Trinity Turner of Dr. Phillips (26), Class 6A POY Jada Eads of Wekiva (18) and Class 1A POY Kailani Lindsey of Wildwood (11).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 30th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Ta’Niya Latson 152 13
Nyla Harris 92 3
Tonie Morgan 61 2
Taliah Scott 41 1
Trinity Turner 26 0
Jada Eads 18 0
Kailani Lindsey 11 0

Past Miss Basketball Winners (area winners in bold) –
1993 – Sabrina Crump, Clearwater Countryside
1994 – Tracy Reid, Miami Central
1995 – LaTonya Washington, Paxton
1996 – LaTonya Washington, Paxton
1997 – LaToya Jordan, Pompano Beach Ely
1998 – Michelle Snow, Pensacola
1999 – Shinikki Whiting, Clearwater
2000 – Binky Martello, Jay
2001 – Natasha Morehead, Panama City Bay
2002 – Dorian Williams, Jacksonville Ribault
2003 – Erlana Larkins, The Benjamin School
2004 – Erlana Larkins, The Benjamin School
2005 – LaQwesha Gamble, Winter Haven
2006 – Steffi Sorensen, Jacksonville Bartram Trail
2007 – Krystal Thomas, Orlando First Academy
2008 – Tiffany Hayes, Winter Haven
2009 – Ashley Jones, Winter Park Lake Howell
2010 – Krystal Saunders, South Broward
2011 – Danielle McCray, Trinity Christian Academy
2012 – Alexis Prince, Orlando Edgewater
2013 – Jessica Thomas, Gainesville Buchholz
2014 – Vionise Pierre-Louis, Grandview Preparatory
2015 – Beatrice Mompremier, Miami Senior
2016 – Nadia Fingall, Choctawhatchee
2017—Rennia Davis, Jacksonville Ribault
2018 – Destanni Henderson, Ft. Myers
2019 – Camille Hobby, Ponte Vedra Nease
2020 – Mikyla Tolivert, Palm Bay
2021 – O’Mariah Gordon, Braden River

Related articles

Recent articles