67.4 F

West Orange’s Ross Usie Named Girls’ Volleyball Coach-of-the-Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (Dec. 5) – Ross Usie of West Orange High School in Winter Garden has been selected as the 2017 Florida Dairy Farmers Girls’ Volleyball Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school volleyball coaches and state media representatives.

Usie had been previously selected the Class 9A Coach of the Year after leading his squad to the state’s only unbeaten record (29-0) and the state title, losing only four of 91 sets during the season. In his seven years at West Orange, Usie has posted a 141-42 record, including 100 wins during the past four years. West Orange became only the third Central Florida-area team to become an unbeaten state champ, joining Winter Park (2004) and Bishop Moore (2012).

Usie received 11 of the 18 first-place votes to total 151 points in winning this year’s award. Class 8A COY Brian Wheatley of state champion Venice was the runnerup with 87 points and Class 7A COY Scott Allen of state champion Choctawhatchee finished third with 60 points. Rounding out the voting were Class 6A COY Robin Migerney of state champion Ponte Vedra (31), Class 1A COY Sheila Roberts of five-time state champion Sneads (24), Class 4A COY Eric Praetorius of state champion Carrollwood Day (20), Class 5A COY Mackenzie Dagostino of state champion Berkeley Prep (17), Class 2A COY Kimberlee Thomas of state champion Ocala St. John Lutheran (14) and Class 3A COY Debbie Christian of state champion Jacksonville Christ’s Church Academy (12).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan. 

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (area winners in bold)
Coach Total Points 1st-place Votes
Ross Usie, West Orange 141 11
Brian Wheatley, Venice 87 3
Scott Allen, Choctawhatchee 60 2
Robin Mignerey, Ponte Vedra 31 1
Sheila Roberts, Sneads 24 1
Eric Praetorius, Carrollwood Day 20 0
Mackenzie Dagostino, Berkeley Prep 17 0
Kimberlee Thomas, Ocala St. John Lutheran 14 0
Debbie Christian, Jacksonville Christ’s Church Academy 12 0

Past Winners:
2016 – Tanya Jarvis, Bishop Moore
2015 – Chad Davis, Gainesville P.K. Yonge
2014 – Tony Cothran, Bradenton Manatee
2013 – Stephanie Gibson, Winter Park
2012 – Tanya Jarvis, Bishop Moore Catholic High School
2011 – Randy Dagostino , Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2010 – Randy Dagostino, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2009 – Marty Bielicki, Martin County
2008 – Leanna Taylor, Tampa Plant
2007 – Charmaine Cox, Lake Highland Preparatory
2006 – Louise Crocco, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
2005 – Stephanie Gibson, Winter Park
2004 – Stephanie Gibson, Winter Park
2003 – Cindy Boulware, Gainesville
2002 – Teri Ohme, Plant City Durant
2001 – Virginia Kelly, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
2000 – Sindee Snow, Bishop Moore Catholic
1999 – Virginia Kelly, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
1998 – Louise Crocco, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1997 – Virginia Kelly, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
1996 – Virginia Kelly, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
1995 – Stephanie Gibson, Miami Sunset
1994 – Louise Crocco, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1993 – Carol Chalu, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
1992 – Randy Dagostino, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory

Related articles

Recent articles