72.7 F

Venice’s John Peacock Named 2017 Football Coach-of-the-Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (December 21) – John Peacock of Venice High School has been named the 2017 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Peacock, who was previously selected as the Class 7A Coach-of-the-Year led his team to a 14-1 record and the state championship. In 11 years at Venice, he has posted a 108-25 record.

Peacock garnered eight first-place votes and 134 points to finish ahead of Class 4A Coach-of-the-Year Deran Wiley of Raines (106) and Class 6A COY Max Edwards of Northwestern (95). Rounding out the voting were Class 8A COY Rodney Wells of Dr. Phillips (86), Class 5A COY Jamie Rodgers of Baker County (36), Independent COY Tod Creneti of St. Stephen’s (32), Class 1A COY Mike Coe of Madison County (15), Class 2A COY Dennis Marroquin of Champagnat Catholic (14) and Class 3A COY Dameon Jones of Chaminade-Madonna (5).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis) – Area winners in bold

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
John Peacock 134 8
Deran Wiley 106 6
Max Edwards 95 5
Rodney Wells 86 2
Jamie Rodgers 36
Tod Creneti 32 2
Mike Coe 15 1
Dennis Marroquin 14
Dameon Jones 5

Past Football Coaches of the Year:
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Lake Butler Union County
1997 – Danny Green, Lake City Columbia
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa
2010 – Dale Salapa, Orlando Dr. Phillips
2011 – Robert Craft, Tallahassee North Florida Christian
2012 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2013 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – Tim Harris, Jr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2015 – Deran Wiley, Jacksonville Raines
2016 – Billy Rolle, Southridge

Related articles

Recent articles