79.3 F

Venice’s Bryce Carpenter Named 2017 Mr. Football


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (December 21) – Senior quarterback Bryce Carpenter of Venice High School has been named the 2017 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Carpenter, who was previously selected as the Class 7A Player of the Year, led his squad to the state championship by completing 191-of-315 passes for 3,053 yards with 42 touchdown passes and 12 interceptions. He also carried the ball 273 times for 1,274 yards with 22 rushing touchdowns. Carpenter threw for 7,047 yards and 83 touchdowns while rushing for 3,416 yards and 54 TDs during his varsity career. He has signed to play college football at Coastal Carolina University.

Carpenter scored a convincing victory over the other eight finalists with 15 of the 24 first-place votes and 195 points overall. In the runnerup spot was Class 8A POY Lorenzo Lingard of Orange City University (79 points) followed in third place by Class 4A POY Ivory Durham of Jacksonville Raines (74). Class 6A POY Brian Snead of Armwood (40) finished fourth followed by Class 5A POY Quadry Jones of Orlando Jones (34), Independent POY Noah Mumme of Satellite (24), Class 3A POY Jordan Travis of The Benjamin School (22), Class 1A POY Derrick Staten Jr. of Madison County (19) and Class 2A POY Jaylin Jackson of Cambridge Christian(17).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis) – Area winners in bold

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Bryce Carpenter 195 15
Lorenzo Lingard 79 6
Ivory Durham 74 2
Brian Snead 40
Quadry Jones 34
Noah Mumme 24 1
Jordan Travis 22
Derrick Staten Jr. 19
Jaylin Jackson 17

Past Mr. Football Winners:
1992 – Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 – Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 – Daunte Culpepper, Ocala Vanguard
1995 – Frankie Franklin, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 – Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 – Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 – Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 – Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 – Leon Washington, Jacksonville Jackson
2002 – Andre Reese, Pierson Taylor
2003 – Xavier Lee, Daytona Beach Seabreeze
2004 – Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Ponte Vedra Nease
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer
2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson
2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland
2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School
2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – D’Andre Johnson, Jacksonville First Coast
2015 – DeShawn Smith, Brooksville Nature Coast Tech
2016 – Nick Tronti, Ponte Vedra

Related articles

Recent articles