89.2 F

Todd Fitz-Gerald Repeats as Baseball Coach of the Year


GAINESVILLE (June 16) – Todd Fitz-Gerald of Douglas High School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2022 Baseball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

Fitz-Gerald, who was also named the state’s top coach in 2021, guided his team to a 30-2 record and its second straight FHSAA Class 7A state championship. In 11 years at Douglas, he has posted a 226-55 record with three state titles (2016, 2021-22). His career record of 476-121 includes a 10-year stint at Plantation American Heritage where he won a state title (2008) and had two other Final Four appearances (2002 and 2009).

Previously selected as the Class 7A COY, Fitz-Gerald won the overall award with 16 first-place votes and 184 points, to finish ahead of Class 4A COY Clint Montgomery of Island Coast (96) and Class 6A COY Ralph Suarez of Doral Academy (80). They were followed in the voting by Class 1A COY Jeromy Powell of Holmes County (26), Class 2A COY Chris Cuadra of Miami Christian (17), Class 5A COY Miguel Menendez of Jesuit (15) and Class 3A COY Brian Campbell of North Broward Prep (12).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 30th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2022 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)
Area coaches in bold

Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas 184 16
Clint Montgomery, Island Coast 96 3
Ralph Suarez, Doral Academy 80 1
Jeromy Powell, Holmes County 26 0
Chris Cuadra, Miami Christian 17 0
Miguel Menendez, Jesuit 15 0
Brian Campbell, North Broward Prep 12 0

Past Baseball Coach Winners:
1993 – Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota
1994 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1995 – John Carpenter, Lakeland Santa Fe
1996 – Rich Hoffman, Miami Westminster
1997 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Howard May, Terry Parker (Jacksonville)
1999 – Scott Benedict, Wellington
2000 – Bob West, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2002 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2003 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
2004 – Pat McQuaid, Davie Nova
2005 – Ralph Henriquez, Key West
2006 – Scott Benedict, Palm Beach Central
2007 – Dave Wheeler, Orlando Bishop Moore
2008 – Tom Hilbert, Dunedin
2009 – Rick Turner, Naples
2010 – Charlie Warner, Pace
2011 – Landy Faedo, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Johnny Goodrich, Spruce Creek (Port Orange)
2013 – Richard Labounty, Pensacola Catholic
2014 – Fred Burnside, South Dade
2015 – Craig Faulkner, Venice
2016—Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas
2017—Greg Olsen, Calvary Christian
2018 – Troy Cameron, St. Thomas Aquinas
2019 – Michael Fryrear, Plant City
2020 – No Winner Named
2021—Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas

Related articles

Recent articles