73.1 F

St. Thomas Aquinas’ (Ft. Lauderdale) Troy Cameron Named 2018 Baseball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 20) – Troy Cameron of St. Thomas Aquinas High School in Fort Lauderdale has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2018 Baseball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

In his sixth year at Aquinas, Cameron guided the school to a 27-3 record and the 2018 Class 8A state championship. Cameron has an overall record of 127-33 at Aquinas with another Final Four appearance in 2013.

Previously selected as the Class 8A COY, Cameron won the overall award with six first-place votes and 91 points, to finish ahead of Class 9A COY Andy Mook of Jupiter, who had four first-place votes and 71 points. Class 7A COY Craig Faulkner of Venice finished third with 66 points followed by Class 5A COY Tom Duffin of Monsignor Pace (60), Class 3A COY Frank Turco of The Canterbury School (48), Class 4A COY Alan Kunkel of Calvary Christian Academy (32), Class 6A COY Juan Fontela of Jefferson (20), Class 1A COY Ashley Summerlin of Port St. Joe (15) and Class 2A COY Chris Cuadra of Miami Christian (5).

All nine finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Troy Cameron, Aquinas 91 6
Andy Mook, Jupiter 71 4
Craig Faulkner, Venice 66 4
Tom Duffin, Monsignor Pace 60 2
Frank Turco, Canterbury 48 0
Alan Kunkel, Calvary Christian Academy 32 1
Juan Fontela, Jefferson 20 1
Ashley Summerlin, Port St. Joe 15 1
Chris Cuadra, Miami Christian 5 0

Past Baseball Coach Winners (area winners in bold):
1993 – Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota
1994 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1995 – John Carpenter, Lakeland Santa Fe
1996 – Rich Hoffman, Miami Westminster
1997 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Howard May, Jacksonville Terry Parker
1999 – Scott Benedict, Wellington
2000 – Bob West, Jacksonville Bishop Kenny
2001 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2002 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2003 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
2004 – Pat McQuaid, Davie Nova
2005 – Ralph Henriquez, Key West
2006 – Scott Benedict, Palm Beach Central
2007 – Dave Wheeler, Orlando Bishop Moore
2008 – Tom Hilbert, Dunedin
2009 – Rick Turner, Naples
2010 – Charlie Warner, Pace
2011 – Landy Faedo, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Johnny Goodrich, Port Orange Spruce Creek 
2013 – Richard Labounty, Pensacola Catholic
2014 – Fred Burnside, South Dade
2015 – Craig Faulkner, Venice
2016—Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas
2017—Greg Olsen, Calvary Christian

Related articles

Recent articles