71.6 F

Mandarin’s Carson Beck Named 2018 Mr. Football


GAINESVILLE (December 22) – Junior quarterback Carson Beck of Jacksonville Mandarin has been named the 2018 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Beck, who was previously selected as the Class 8A Player of the Year, led his squad to the state championship by completing 185-of-329 passes for 3,559 yards with 41 touchdown passes and 7 interceptions.

In Mandarin’s 37-35 state title game win over Miami Columbus, Beck threw for 329 yards and had five touchdown passes. Beck has committed to play college football at the University of Alabama.

Beck scored a convincing victory over the other eight finalists with 15 of the 23 first-place votes and 185 points overall. In the runner-up spot was Class 7A POY Demarkcus Bowman of Lakeland (110) followed in third place by Class 5A POY Marcus Crowley of Jacksonville Trinity Christian (62). Class 6A POY Damean Bivins of Pace (45) finished fourth followed by Class 4A POY Brandon Marshall of Jacksonville Raines (39), Class 1A POY Travis Jay of Madison County (25), Class 2A POY Jensen Jones of St. John Neumann (20), Class 3A POY Justin Wake of The King’s Academy (17) and Independent POY Jalen Carr of Orlando Christian Prep (14).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 27th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

Area winners in bold

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Carson Beck 185 15
Demarkcus Bowman 110 4
Marcus Crowley 62 1
Damean Bivins 45 1
Brandon Marshall 39 1
Travis Jay 25 1
Jenson Jones 20
Justin Wake 17
Jalen Carr 14

Past Mr. Football Winners:
1992 – Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 – Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 – Daunte Culpepper, Ocala Vanguard
1995 – Frankie Franklin, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 – Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 – Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 – Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 – Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 – Leon Washington, Jacksonville Jackson
2002 – Andre Reese, Pierson Taylor
2003 – Xavier Lee, Daytona Beach Seabreeze
2004 – Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Ponte Vedra Nease
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer
2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson
2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland
2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School
2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – D’Andre Johnson, Jacksonville First Coast
2015 – DeShawn Smith, Brooksville Nature Coast Tech
2016 – Nick Tronti, Ponte Vedra
2017 – Bryce Carpenter, Venice

Related articles

Recent articles