67.1 F

Mandarin’s Bobby Ramsey Named 2018 Football Coach-of-the-Year


GAINESVILLE (December 22) – Bobby Ramsay of Jacksonville Mandarin has been named the 2018 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Ramsay, who was previously selected as the Class 8A Coach-of-the-Year, led his team to an 11-4 record and the school’s first state championship a year after finishing with a 2-8 record in his first season at the school. Prior to going to Mandarin, Ramsey posted a 77-48 record in nine years at Yulee, where he coached 2012 Florida Mr. Football and 2015 Heisman Trophy winner Derrick Henry.

Ramsay garnered 11 first-place votes and 155 points in a tight battle with Class 7A Coach-of-the-Year Bill Castle of Lakeland, who picked up eight first-place votes and 137 points to finish as the runnerup. Class 4A COY Deran Wiley of Jacksonville Raines (56) finished third followed by Class 1A COY Mike Coe of Madison County (46), Class 5A COY Matt DuBuc of Cardinal Gibbons (41) and Class 6A COY Max Edwards of Northwestern (29). Rounding out the voting were Class 2A COY Steve Price of North Florida Christian (15), Class 3A COY Dameon Jones of Chaminade-Madonna (12) and Independent COY Guerschom Demosthenes of Orlando Christian Prep (8).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 27th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

Area winners in bold

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Bobby Ramsay 155 11
Bill Castle 137 8
Deran Wiley 56 2
Mike Coe 46
Matt DuBuc 41 1
Max Edwards 29
Steve Price 15 1
Dameon Jones 12
Guerschom Demothenes 8

Past Football Coaches of the Year:
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Lake Butler Union County
1997 – Danny Green, Lake City Columbia
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Belle Glade Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa
2010 – Dale Salapa, Orlando Dr. Phillips
2011 – Robert Craft, Tallahassee North Florida Christian
2012 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2013 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – Tim Harris, Jr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2015 – Deran Wiley, Jacksonville Raines
2016 – Billy Rolle, Miami Southridge
2017 – John Peacock, Venice

Related articles

Recent articles