86.6 F

Leesburg’s Sean Campbell Named 2018 Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (March 26) – Sean Campbell of Leesburg High School has been named the 2018 Florida Dairy Farmers Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

Campbell led Leesburg to a 30-1 record and a second straight Class 6A state championship. In five years at the school, Campbell has posted a 101-53 record.

Campbell, who was selected as the Class 6A Coach of the Year in a previous round of voting, finished with 122 points to win the overall award ahead of Class 7A COY Jorge Fernandez of Doral Academy (103) and Class 8A COY Melvin Randall of Blanche Ely (78).

Class 5A COY Adrian Sosa of NSU University School finished fourth (56), followed by Class 1A COY Von Moreland of Wildwood (48), Class 2A COY Juan Cardona of Miami Christian (34), Class 9A COY Steven Reece of Oak Ridge (23), Class 4A COY Ehren Wallhoff of Westminster Academy (21) and Class 3A COY Treig Burke of Orlando Christian Prep (14).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (area coaches in bold)
Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Sean Campbell 122 8
Jorge Fernandez 103 6
Melvin Randall 78 4
Adrian Sosa 56 0
Von Moreland 48 1
Juan Cardona 34 0
Steven Reece 23 0
Ehren Wallhoff 21 0
Treig Burke 14 0

Past Boys’ Basketball Coaching Winners:

1993 – Bernard Wilkes, Jacksonville Ribault
1994 – John Ellerbee, Malone
1995 – Bob Carroll, Bradenton Southeast
1996 – Wade Edmond, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
1997 – Joey Pons, Fort Walton Beach
1998 – Bruce Rosebrock, Jacksonville Wolfson
1999 – Vernon Eppinette, Port St. Joe
2000 – Anthony Long, Gainesville
2001 – Mark Rickman, Orlando Boone
2002 – Ricky McCullough, Chipley
2003 – Mark Lieberman, Miami Pace
2004 – Mike Gaudy, Cocoa Beach
2005 – Danny Wright, Lakewood
2006 – Matt Hixenbaugh, Winter Park
2007 – Steve Kohn, Winter Park Lake Howell
2008 – Lawton Williams III, Miami Norland
2009 – Kelly Beckham, Gainesville
2010 – Eli Bryant, Tallahassee Rickards
2011 – Fred Ross, Palm Beach Gardens Dwyer
2012 – Billy Washington, Lake Wales
2013 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
2014 – Ed Kershner, Oviedo
2015 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
2016 – Shane Whitsett, Poinciana
2017 – Darryl Burrows, Dillard

Related articles

Recent articles