89.5 F

Lake Highland Prep’s Brice Sensabaugh Named Florida Mr. Basketball


GAINESVILLE (April 4) – Brice Sensabaugh, a 6-6 guard from Lake Highland Preparatory School in Orlando, has been named the 2022 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball in a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

The Ohio State University signee, who earlier this month was named the Class 4A Player-of-the-Year, averaged 25.1 points, 7.2 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game in leading his team to a 25-4 record and a spot in the Class 4A Final Four.

Lake Highland Prep became the third school with more than one Florida Mr. Basketball winner in the 40-year history of the award, as Sensabaugh joined LHP alum Joel Berry II, the only three-time winner of the award (2012-14). Bradenton Southeast leads all schools with three

Mr. Basketball winners, including Clifford Rozier (1990), LeRon Williams (1994) and Adrian McPherson (2001), while Miami Senior also has multiple winners in Douglas Edwards (1989) and Steve Edwards (1991 and 1992).

Sensabaugh tallied 13 of the 20 first-place votes and 156 points to finish ahead of Class 7A POY Ernest Udeh Jr. of Dr. Phillips, who had two first-place votes and 101 points.

Class 3A POY Tre Donaldson of Florida High finished third (85), followed by Class 2A POY Ven Allen Lubin of Orlando Christian Prep (62), Class 5A POY Tony Livingston of Tampa King (29), Class 6A POY Ryan Davis of Martin County (26) and Class 1A POY Kaleb Wilson of Malone (12).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. These awards honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all FHSAA sanctioned sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2022 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Area winners in bold)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Brice Sensabaugh 156 13
Ernest Udeh Jr. 101 2
Tre Donaldson 85 2
Ven Allen Lubin 62 2
Tony Livingston 29 0
Ryan Davis 26 1
Kaleb Wilson 12 0

NOTE: The Mr. Basketball Award was sponsored by Florida Sports News, Inc., from 1983 to 1992

Past Mr. Basketball Winners:
1983 – Frank Ford, Kissimmee Osceola
1984 – Vernon Maxwell, Gainesville Buchholz
1985 – Toney Mack, Brandon
1986 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1987 – Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes
1988 – Johnny Walker, Quincy Shanks
1989 – Douglas Edwards, Miami Senior
1990 – Clifford Rozier, Bradenton Southeast
1991 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1992 – Steve Edwards, Miami Senior
1993 – James Collins, Jacksonville Jackson
1994 – LeRon Williams, Bradenton Southeast
1995 – Vince Carter, Daytona Beach Mainland
1996 – Luke Barnes, South Miami
1997 – Jason Pryor, Fort Walton Beach
1998 – Teddy Dupay, Cape Coral Mariner
1999 – Casey Sanders, Tampa Prep
2000 – Orien Greene, Gainesville High
2001- Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2002 – Amare Stoudemire, Orlando Cypress Creek
2003 – Chris Richard, Lakeland Kathleen
2004 – Darius Washington, Orlando Edgewater
2005 – Keith Brumbaugh, Deland
2006 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2007 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell
2008 – Ray Shipman, Miami Monsignor Pace
2009 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2010 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest
2011 – Austin Rivers, Winter Park
2012 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2013 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2014 – Joel Berry II, Lake Highland Preparatory
2015 – Antonio Blakeney, Orlando Oak Ridge
2016 – Tony Bradley, Bartow
2017 – Kevin Knox, Tampa Catholic
2018 – Vernon Carey, Jr., NSU University School
2019 – Vernon Carey, Jr., NSU University School
2020 – Isaiah Adams, Jacksonville Paxon
2021 – Dallan “Deebo” Coleman, Callahan West Nassau

Related articles

Recent articles