76.2 F

Florida Dairy Farmers 2016 Baseball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerStoneman Douglas’ Todd Fitz-Gerald Named 2016 Baseball Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (June 8) – Todd Fitz-Gerald of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2016 Baseball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

In his fifth year at Douglas, Fitz-Gerald guided the Eagles to a 27-2 record and the 2016 Class 9A state championship. The state championship was the first for Fitz-Gerald at Douglas to go along with a state title (2008) and two other Final appearances (2002, 2009) during his 10-year coaching stint at American Heritage. Fitz-Gerald’s career record is 349-97, including a 104-29 record during his five years at Douglas.

Fitz-Gerald, who previously was selected as the Class 9A COY, won the overall award with 158 points, to finish ahead of Class 6A COY Rich Bielski of Archbishop McCarthy (132), the runner-up for the second consecutive year, and Class 8A COY John Crumbley of Steinbrenner (126). Class 3A COY Frank Turco of The Canterbury School (114) finished fourth, followed in order by Class 5A COY Mike Boswell of The Bolles School (111), Class 4A COY Alan Kunkel of Calvary Christian (108), Class 7A COY Nelson North of Gaither (100), Class 2A COY Miguel Cuello of Lake Worth Trinity Christian (71) and Class 1A COY Tim Hansen of Lafayette (60).

All nine finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 24th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2016 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis).  Area winners in bold.

Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas 158 6
Rich Bielski, Archbishop McCarthy 132 5
John Crumbley, Steinbrenner 126 2
Frank Turco, Canterbury 114 1
Mike Boswell, Bolles (Jacksonville) 111 2
Alan Kunkel, Calvary Christian 108 2
Nelson North, Gaither 100 3
Miguel Cuello, Trinity Christian 71 0
Tim Hansen, Lafayette (Mayo) 60 0

Past Baseball Coach Winners:

1993 – Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota
1994 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1995 – John Carpenter, Lakeland Santa Fe
1996 – Rich Hoffman, Miami Westminster
1997 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Howard May, Terry Parker (Jacksonville)
1999 – Scott Benedict, Wellington
2000 – Bob West, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2002 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge
2003 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit
2004 – Pat McQuaid, Davie Nova
2005 – Ralph Henriquez, Key West
2006 – Scott Benedict, Palm Beach Central
2007 – Dave Wheeler, Orlando Bishop Moore
2008 – Tom Hilbert, Dunedin
2009 – Rick Turner, Naples
2010 – Charlie Warner, Pace
2011 – Landy Faedo, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Johnny Goodrich, Spruce Creek (Port Orange)
2013 – Richard Labounty, Pensacola Catholic
2014 – Fred Burnside, South Dade
2015 – Craig Faulkner, Venice

Related articles

Recent articles

%d bloggers like this: