73.1 F

Finalists for Mr. Soccer & Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerFollowing are the five finalists for the 2017 Mr. Soccer Award.  Area winners in bold.

Ashton Neff, Junior, Midfielder Seminole, Class 5A Player of the Year

Helped his team to a 26-3-3 record and a spot in the state Final Four by scoring 22 goals and adding 21 assists.

Reed Davis, Junior, Forward, Fleming Island (Orange Park), Class 4A Player of the Year

Davis scored the game-winning goal in overtime in the state semifinals before adding another goal in the title game.  He finished with 50 goals and added 16 assists this season and has committed to play soccer at Jacksonville University.

Miguel Deleon, Senior, Forward, Taylor (Pierson), Class 3A Player of the Year

Led this year’s team to a 19-3-1 record, losing to eventual state champion Daytona Seabreeze in the regional semifinals. Scored a state-leading 71 goals after scoring a school-record 48 goals as a junior in 2016.

Alex Turner, Senior, Forward, Cardinal Mooney, Class 2A Player of the Year

Turner repeated as the Class 2A Player-of-the-Year after scoring 43 goals and adding nine assists this season.  He posted 125 goals and 38 assists in his varsity career. He has committed to play college soccer at Mercer University.

Tanner Molony, Junior, Forward, Lakeland Christian, Class 1A Player of the Year

Molony led his team to the state championship game by scoring 35 goals, including his team’s lone goal in a 2-1 title game loss to Maclay, and added 10 assists this season.

Following are the five finalists for the 2017 Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year Award:

Colin Ilgner, Cypress Bay, Class 5A Coach of the Year

In his third year at Cypress Bay, Ilgner posted a 21-1-2 record and led his team to its third straight Final Four appearance and second state title (2015 and 2017). He has a career record of 63-3-4.

Frank Pontore, Fleming Island (Orange Park), Class 4A Coach of the Year

Pontore led his squad to a 24-1-2 record and the state championship. In 14 years at Fleming Island, he has a pair of state titles (2012 and 2017), a state runner-up finish (2014) and two other Final Four appearances (2008 and 2011).

Nate Murphy, Seabreeze (Daytona Beach), Class 3A Coach of the Year

In his first year as head coach at Seabreeze, Murphy posted a 23-1-2 record and won the Class 3A state championship. It was the school’s first state soccer title since 1993.

Bob Robidoux, West Shore, Class 2A Coach of the Year

Robidoux led his squad to a 21-4 record and the Class 2A state title. In four years at West Shore, Robidoux has posted a 62-14-3 record with another Final Four appearance in 2015.

Andy Warner, Maclay, Class 1A Coach of the Year

Warner led Maclay to a 22-3-2 record and the school’s first winter soccer state title. In 25 years at Maclay, Warner has won three fall state soccer titles in addition to this year’s championship.

Related articles

Recent articles