86.5 F

Finalists announced for 2020 Miss Basketball and Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year


GAINESVILLE (March 20) — The seven individual class finalists for the 2020 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Basketball and Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year have been announced following balloting by a statewide panel of high school girls’ basketball coaches and prep media members.

Every finalist was the leading vote-getter in their classification, making each one the Player of the Year or Coach of the Year in their class. The two winners will be announced following a final round of balloting by coaches and media.

Area players/coaches in bold

The seven finalists for the 2020 Miss Basketball Award:

Sophia Jones, Senior, Guard, Cypress Bay, Class 7A Player of the Year
Led her team to a 16-6 record and a district championship, averaging 25.3 points per game. She has signed to play college basketball at San Jose State University.

O’Mariah Gordon, Junior, Guard, Braden River, Class 6A Player of the Year
Led her team to a spot in the state Final Four by averaging 23.1 points, 4.2 steals, 6.8 rebounds and 5.8 assists per game.

Mikyla Tolivert, Junior, Guard, Palm Bay, Class 5A Player of the Year
Led her team to a 23-6 record and a spot in the regional finals by averaging 30.9 points, 8.4 rebounds, 5.9 steals and 3.4 assists per game.

Jordana Codio, Sophomore, Forward, Delray American Heritage, , Class 4A Player of the Year
Averaged 22.1 points, 6.4 rebounds, 2.3 steals and 2.0 assists per game. Has committed to the University of Wisconsin.

Kailyn Gilbert, Sophomore, Guard, Tampa Prep, Class 3A Player of the Year
Averaged state-leading 32.1 points per game and added 11.2 rebounds and 3.5 steals per game.

Jillian Schenk, Senior, Forward, Lake Worth Christian, Class 2A Player of the Year
Helped her team to a 15-4 record by averaging 24.2 points, 10.5 rebounds, 2.5 blocks and 2.5 steals per game.

Renee Clines, Senior, Guard, Lafayette (Mayo), Class 1A Player of the Year
Led her team to the regional finals with a 17-10 record by averaging 23.4 points, 3.2 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 3.5 steals per game.

The seven finalists for the 2020 Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year:

Carrie Mahon, Plant, Class 7A Coach of the Year
Led her team to a 30-2 record and a state runnerup finish. In 18 years at Plant, Mahon has posted a 387-110 record with another Final Four appearance in 2004.

Henry McNabb, Blanche Ely, Class 6A Coach of the Year
In his third year as a head coach, and his first at Blanche Ely, McNabb led his team to a 28-6 record and the Class 6A state title. In his first two years of coaching, he posted a 37-14 record and won two Class 3A titles at Somerset Prep.

Greg Farias, Plantation American Heritage, Class 5A Coach of the Year
Farias led his squad to a 25-4 record and a third straight state championship. In five years he has posted a 116-29 record with another Final Four appearance in 2017.

Al Honor, Lake Highland Prep, Class 4A Coach of the Year
Honor led his squad to a 29-2 record and the Class 4A state title. In nine years at LHP, Honor has posted a 224-47 record with three state championships and five Final Four appearances.

Karim Nohra, Carrollwood Day, Class 3A Coach of the Year
Nohra guided his team to a 27-2 record and the Class 3A state championship. In four years at Carrollwood Day, he has a 110-11 record with four Final Four appearances. Nohra has five other Final Four appearances in his 30-year coaching career at five Florida schools while compiling 645 wins.

E.J. Murray, Florida Prep, Class 2A Coach of the Year
In his third year at the school, Murray led his squad to a 24-7 record and its second straight state title. His overall record is 63-27.

Cornelius Ingram, Hawthorne, Class 1A Coach of the Year
Ingram compiled a 29-2 record and won the Class 1A state title. In three years he has posted a 64-16 record, including a Final Four appearance in 2019.

Final voting numbers by class (top three):

Class 7A
Player School Points
Sophia Jones Cypress Bay 80
Jasmine Edwards Haines City 64
Amari Wright Sandalwood (Jacksonville) 57

Coach School Points
Carrie Mahon Plant 102
Sam Baumgarten Miami Senior 91
Freddie Clinton Timber Creek 49

Class 6A
Player School Points
O’Mariah Gordon Braden River 83
Erin Turral Lincoln 77
Jaleah Williams Blanche Ely 47

Coach School Points
JR McNabb Blanche Ely 87
Tommie Butts Wekiva 81
Johnnie Lawson Winter Haven 71

Class 5A
Player School Points
Mikyla Tolivert Palm Bay 105
Taiyah Wyche Plantation Amer. Heritage 56
Nasia Powell Vanguard (Ocala) 42

Coach School Points
Greg Farias Plantation Amer. Heritage 109
Christina Godwin Pine Forest 79
Harold Jacobs Jones 54

Class 4A
Player School Points
Jordana Codio Delray American Heritage 92
Jasmyne Roberts Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville) 62
Anabel Ellison Tarpon Springs 60

Coach School Points
Al Honor Lake Highland Prep 120
Charlsea Clark Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville) 89
Aisha Patrick Cocoa 35

Class 3A
Player School Points
Kailyn Gilbert Tampa Prep 106
Chloe Kitts The Master’s Academy 58
Khadiya Faye Father Lopez (Daytona Beach) 56

Coach School Points
Karim Nohra Carrollwood Day 102
LeighAnn Hughes The Master’s Academy 72
David Gaulman St. Stephen’s 49

Class 2A
Player School Points
Jillian Schenk Lake Worth Christian 79
Emma Risch Florida Prep 60
Mel Garbarsky Trinity Christian (Lk Worth) 51

Coach School Points
EJ Murray Florida Prep 116
Ericka Cromartie FAMU HIgh 85
Karrmayne King Keswick Christian 32

Class 1A
Player School Points
Renee Clines Lafayette (Mayo) 113
Kinzie Nelson Holmes County 98
Cera McElreath Branford 37

Coach School Points
Cornelius Ingram Hawthorne 137
Kenneth Parker Port St. Joe 57
Christopher Neal Madison County 46

Related articles

Recent articles