53.7 F

Crestview’s Greg Watson Named 2019 Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (March 28) – Greg Watson of Crestview High School has been named the 2019 Florida Dairy Farmers Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

He led Crestview to a 26-6 record and the Class 7A state championship. In five years at the school, Watson has posted a 114-36 record.

Watson, who was selected as the Class 7A Coach of the Year in a previous round of voting, finished with 124 points to win the overall award ahead of Class 8A COY Melvin Randall of Blanche Ely (105) and Class 4A COY Ehren Wallhoff of Westminster Academy (73).

Class 6A COY Terrence Williams of Stranahan finished fourth (65), followed by Class 9A COY Nathan Alexander of Osceola (58), Class 3A COY Titus Nixon of St. John Paul II (44),

Class 5A COY Jim Carr of NSU University School (31), Class 1A COY Allen Demps of Madison County (28) and Class 2A COY Jonathan McClintock of Central Florida Christian Academy (12).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 27th year of these awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2019 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Area winners in bold)
Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Greg Watson 124 9
Melvin Randall 105 6
Ehren Wallhoff 73 2
Terrence Williams 65 2
Nathan Alexander 58 1
Titus Nixon 44 0
Jim Carr 31 0
Allen Demps 28 1
Jonathan McClintock 12 0

Past Boys’ Basketball Coaching Winners:

1993 – Bernard Wilkes, Jacksonville Ribault
1994 – John Ellerbee, Malone
1995 – Bob Carroll, Bradenton Southeast
1996 – Wade Edmond, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
1997 – Joey Pons, Fort Walton Beach
1998 – Bruce Rosebrock, Jacksonville Wolfson
1999 – Vernon Eppinette, Port St. Joe
2000 – Anthony Long, Gainesville
2001 – Mark Rickman, Orlando Boone
2002 – Ricky McCullough, Chipley
2003 – Mark Lieberman, Miami Pace
2004 – Mike Gaudy, Cocoa Beach
2005 – Danny Wright, Lakewood
2006 – Matt Hixenbaugh, Winter Park
2007 – Steve Kohn, Winter Park Lake Howell
2008 – Lawton Williams III, Miami Norland
2009 – Kelly Beckham, Gainesville
2010 – Eli Bryant, Tallahassee Rickards
2011 – Fred Ross, Palm Beach Gardens Dwyer
2012 – Billy Washington, Lake Wales
2013 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
2014 – Ed Kershner, Oviedo
2015 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely
2016 – Shane Whitsett, Poinciana
2017 – Darryl Burrows, Dillard
2018 – Sean Campbell, Leesburg

Related articles

Recent articles