72.2 F

Coral Springs Charter’s Montimurro Named 2018 Softball Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 13) – Mark Montimurro of Coral Springs Charter School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2018 Softball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

In his sixth year at CSC, Montimurro guided his squad to a 30-2 record and its fourth straight state championship. Montimurro, who won two state titles at Hollywood Christian (2001, 2003), has a 467-108 record during his 20-year coaching career.

Montimurro, who previously was selected as the Class 5A COY, won the overall award with seven of the 18 first-place votes and 82 points, to finish ahead of Class 2A COY Diane Stephenson of Academy at the Lakes, who had three first-place votes and 61 points. Class 8A COY David Stone of Hagerty (58) finished third, followed in order by Class 1A COY Tony Price of Wewahitchka (49), Class 7A COY Tom Fadul of Pembroke Pines Charter (32), Class 9A COY Jeffrey Poole of Western (24), Class 3A COY Linda Derk of Admiral Farragut (22), Class 4A COY Scott Doan of Westminster Christian (19) and Class 6A COY Marty Cooper of Plantation American Heritage (17).

All nine finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis) – Area coaches in bold

Coach Total Points 1st-place votes
Mark Montimurro, Coral Springs Charter 82 7
Diane Stephenson, Academy at the Lakes 61 3
David Stone, Hagerty 58 1
Tony Price, Wewahitchka 49 3
Tom Fadul, Pembroke Pines Charter 32 1
Jeffrey Poole, Western 24 0
Linda Derk, Admiral Farragut 22 1
Scott Doan, Westminster Christian 19 0
Marty Cooper, American Heritage 17 0

Past Softball Coaches of the Year:

1993 – Jean King, Niceville (Slow Pitch)
Marilyn Bevetta, Ridgewood (Fast Pitch)
1994 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1995 – Leslie Black, Cardinal Mooney
1996 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1997 – Mike Clamon, Bloomingdale
1998 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
1999 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2000 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2001 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2002 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2003 – Becker Downie, Miami Palmetto
2004 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2005 – Chuck Poetter, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2007 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2008 – Coy Adkins, Wewahitchka
2009 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2010 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Danny Hensley, Niceville
2012 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2013 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2014 – Amanda Schuerman, Bloomingdale
2015 – Melinda Wyatt, Tate
2016 – Todd LaNeave, West Orange
2017 – Christina Thompson, Oakleaf (Orange Park)

Related articles

Recent articles

%d bloggers like this: