75 F

Buchholz’s Creed Whittemore Named 2022 Mr. Football


GAINESVILLE (January 6) – Senior quarterback Creed Whittemore of Gainesville Buchholz High School has been named the 2022 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Whittemore, who was previously selected as the Class 4S Player of the Year, led Buchholz to a 10-3 record and a spot in the state Final Four by completing 173-of-291 passes for 2,533 yards with 33 touchdowns and six interceptions. He also rushed for 1,170 yards on 144 carries and 8.1 yards per carry with 16 touchdowns. On defense, Whittemore had six interceptions. He has signed to play college football for Mississippi State University.

Whittemore captured 15 of the 25 first-place votes to finish with 183 points. Class 2S POY Blake Boda of Cocoa was the runnerup, receiving four first-place votes and finishing with 116 points. Class 2M POY Keyone Jenkins of Miami Central finished third (78 points) followed by Class 1M POY Cedric Bailey of Chaminade-Madonna (65), Class 4M POY Alberto Mendoza of Miami Columbus (36), Class 3M POY Cedric Baxter of Edgewater (27), Class 1R POY Jailen Ruth of Hawthorne (22), Class 3S POY Damarcus Creecy of Mainland (17), Class 1S POY Olsen Henry of First Baptist Academy (5) and Independent POY Nehemiah Vann of Seven Rivers Christian.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 31st year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2022 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Creed Whittemore, Buchholz 183 15
Blake Boda, Cocoa 116 4
Keyone Jenkins, Central 78 4
Cedric Bailey, Chaminade-Madonna 65 1
Alberto Mendoza, Columbus 36 0
Cedric Baxter, Edgewater 27 1
Jailen Ruth, Hawthorne 22 0
Damarcus Creecy, Daytona Beach Mainland 17 0
Olsen Henry, First Baptist Academy 5 0
Nehemiah Vann, Lecanto Seven Rivers Christian 0 0

Past Mr. Football Winners:
1992 – Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 – Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 – Daunte Culpepper, Ocala Vanguard
1995 – Frankie Franklin, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 – Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 – Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 – Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 – Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 – Leon Washington, Jacksonville Jackson
2002 – Andre Reese, Pierson Taylor
2003 – Xavier Lee, Daytona Beach Seabreeze
2004 – Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Ponte Vedra Nease
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer
2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson
2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland
2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School
2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – D’Andre Johnson, Jacksonville First Coast
2015 – DeShawn Smith, Brooksville Nature Coast Tech
2016 – Nick Tronti, Ponte Vedra
2017 – Bryce Carpenter, Venice
2018 – Carson Beck, Jacksonville Mandarin
2019 – Demarkcus Bowman, Lakeland
2020 – Trey Wainwright, Niceville
2021 – Jaylon Glover, Lakeland Lake Gibson

Related articles

Recent articles