87.7 F

Blanche Ely’s McNabb Named Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year


GAINESVILLE (March 27) – Henry “J.R.” McNabb of Pompano Beach Blanche Ely High School has been named the 2020 Florida Dairy Farmers Girls’ Basketball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school coaches and media representatives.

In his third year as a head coach, and his first year at Blanche Ely, McNabb led his squad to a 28-6 record and the Class 6A state title. In his first two years, he posted a 37-14 record and won back-to-back Class 3A state titles at Somerset Prep.

McNabb, who was earlier named the Class 6A Coach-of-the-Year, tallied 91 points to finish ahead of Class 4A COY Al Honor of Lake Highland Prep (68). Class 1A COY Cornelius Ingram of Hawthorne finished third with 60 points followed by Class 5A COY Greg Farias of Plantation American Heritage (53), Class 3A COY Karim Nohra of Carrollwood Day (33), Class 7A COY Carrie Mahon of Plant (31) and Class 2A COY E.J. Murray of Florida Prep (29).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 28th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2020 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Area coaches in bold)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Henry McNabb 91 7
Al Honor 68 4
Cornelius Ingram (Hawthorne) 60 3
Greg Farias 53 2
Karim Nohra 33 0
Carrie Mahon 31 0
E.J. Murray 29 1

Past Girls’ Basketball Coaching Winners:
1993 – Ronnie Bond, Pensacola Washington
1994 – Al Austin, Jacksonville Ribault
1995 – Reginald Davis, Tallahassee Godby
1996 – Harry Elifson, St. Petersburg Boca Ciega
1997 – Al Austin, Jacksonville Ribault
1998 – Dave Horner, Ocala Forest
1999 – Al Austin, Jacksonville Ribault
2000 – Ronnie Bond, Pensacola Washington
2001 – Ronnie Bond, Pensacola Washington
2002 – Al Austin, Jacksonville Ribault
2003 – Abby Ward, South Broward
2004 – Ronnalee Terry, The Benjamin School
2005 – Carl Brown, Lake Mary
2006 – Greg Hostetler, Titusville Astronaut
2007 – LeDawn Gibson, Winter Haven
2008 – Mike Hamburger, Naples Barron Collier
2009 – Carla Harris-Curry, Miami Norland
2010 – Marcia Pinder, Fort Lauderdale Dillard
2011 – Marcia Pinder, Fort Lauderdale Dillard
2012 – Marcia Pinder, Fort Lauderdale Dillard
2013 – Marcia Pinder, Fort Lauderdale Dillard
2014 – John Harder, Bradenton Southeast
2015 – Marcia Pinder, Fort Lauderdale Dillard
2016 – Sheila Seymore-Pennick, Jacksonville Ribault
2017 – Ochiel Swaby, Miami Country Day
2018 – Johnnie Lawson, Winter Haven
2019 – Ochiel Swaby, Miami Country Day

Finalists for Miss Basketball & Coach of the Year

Related articles

Recent articles