74.9 F

Bishop Moore’s Marlie Monserez Named 2017 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Volleyball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (Dec. 5) – Senior setter Marlie Monserez of Orlando’s Bishop Moore Catholic High School has been named the 2017 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Volleyball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school volleyball coaches and media representatives.

Monserez, who led her squad to the 2017 Class 6A state title match after being a key member of state championship teams in 2015 and 2016, posted 329 kills, 284 digs and 227 assists, including a match-leading 24 kills with 13 digs and eight assists in the state final against Ponte Vedra. She has signed to play college volleyball at the University of Florida, where her older sister Allie is an All-America setter for the No. 2 ranked Gators.

After earlier being named Class 6A Player-of-the-Year, Monserez garnered 10 of the 18 first-place votes to finish with 137 points in claiming this year’s award. Class 5A POY Amanda Phegley of state champion Berkeley Prep, was the runner-up with 92 points, followed in order by Class 8A POY Kelly Hubbard of state champion Venice (81), Class 9A POY Makala Heidelberg of state champion West Orange (48), Class 7A POY Kassandra Fairly of state champion Choctawhatchee (38) and Class 4A POY Ally-Reese Williams of state champ Carrollwood Day (10). This year’s other class winners included Heather Brown of Class 3A state champ Jacksonville Christ’s Church Academy, Gigi Chiaramonte of Class 2A state champ Ocala St. John Lutheran and Alyssa Stagner of Class 1A state champ Sneads.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (area winners in bold)

Player Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Marlie Monserez, Bishop Moore 137 10
Amanda Phegley, Berkeley Prep 92 4
Kelly Hubbard, Venice 81 3
Makala Heidelberg, West Orange 48 1
Kassandra Fairly, Choctawhatchee 38 0
Ally Reese-Williams, Carrollwood Day 10 0

Past Winners:
2016 – Stephanie Samedy, Clermont East Ridge 
2015 – Payton Caffrey, Winter Springs
2014 – Courtney Furlong, Oviedo
2013 – Christina Ambrose, Winter Park
2012 – Lindsey Owens, Bishop Moore Catholic
2011 – Jordan Burgess, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2010 – Jordan Burgess, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2009 – Elise Walch, Martin County
2008 – Jessica Yingling, Orlando Timber Creek
2007 – Kellie Catanach, Tampa Plant
2006 – Ruthie King, Winter Park Lake Howell
2005 – Janet Okagbaa, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2004 – Foluke Akinradewo, Ft. Lauderdale St. Thomas Aquinas
2003 – Michelle Staulbaum, Gainesville
2002 – Marcie Hampton, Gainesville P.K. Yonge
2001 – Julia Caner, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
2000 – Taylor Williams, Gainesville
1999 – Delavane Diaz, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
1998 – Kristen Blatt, Venice
1997 – Lauren Westervelt, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
1996 – Jennifer Werrick, Lakeland George Jenkins
1995 – Sandra Reboucas, Orlando Cypress Creek
1994 – Jamie Velentzas, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1993 – Coleen Crocco, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1992 – Kelly Flannigan, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory

Related articles

Recent articles