86.6 F

Armenteros, Battle Named Top Track Coaches


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 6) – Alex Armenteros of St. Thomas Aquinas High School and John Battle of Hallandale High School have been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2018 Girls’ and Boys’ Track Coaches of the Year following a final round of voting by a panel of state high school track and field coaches and media representatives.

Armenteros, the Girls’ Class 4A Coach-of-the-Year, led his squad to a dominating victory (116-36) over runnerup Winter Park in the Class 4A state meet.

He earned his fourth state title victory, adding to the three girls’ titles Aquinas won from 2013-15.  Armenteros won this year’s overall award with 79 points, finishing ahead of Class 3A COY Carmen Jackson of Miami Northwestern (67), Class 2A COY John Battle of Hallandale (59) and Class 1A COY Edwin McTureous of Oak Hall School (38).

Battle, the Boys’ Class 2A COY, completed a sweep of the boys’ and girls’ titles by scoring 138 points, the most of any team at the state meet in coasting to a Class 2A boys’ state championship over runner-up American Heritage (80 points).  He won this year’s award with 93 points, beating out Class 3A COY Darryl Elmore of Miami Northwestern (72), Class 1A COY Moushami Robinson of The First Academy (56) and Class 4A COY Fred Foyo of Miami Columbus (36).

The Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in an all-time high 30 sanctioned and recognized FHSAA sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5-3 basis) – Area coaches in bold

Boys’ Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
John Battle, Hallandale 93 8
Darryl Elmore, Northwestern 76 2
Moushami Robinson, The First Academy 52 1
Fred Foyo, Columbus 36 0

Girls’ Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Alex Armenteros, St. Thomas Aquinas 79 5
Carmen Jackson, Northwestern 67 3
John Battle, Hallandale 59 3
Edwin McTureous, Oak Hall (Gainesville) 38 0

Related articles

Recent articles