84.6 F

Alachua Santa Fe Standout Jalyn Stout Named 2021 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Volleyball


GAINESVILLE (Dec. 10) – Junior setter Jalyn Stout of Santa Fe High School in Alachua has been named the 2021 Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Volleyball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school volleyball coaches and media representatives.

Stout led her squad to the 2021 Class 4A state title, posting 392 kills, 393 assists, 236 digs and 33 aces, with a .550 hitting percentage.

After earlier being named Class 4A Player-of-the-Year, Stout received nine of the 21 first-place votes to finish with 134 points in claiming this year’s award. Emma Truluck of Ocala Forest was the runner-up with 78 points, followed in order by Lily Frierson of Tampa Plant (74), Alysia Fingall of Panama City Mosley (74), Breanah Rives of Seacrest Country Day (31), Taylor Parks of Clearwater Calvary Christian (29) and Taylor-Reese Howell of Sneads (25).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 30th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

Area winners in bold

Player Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Jalyn Stout, Santa Fe 134 9
Emma Truluck, Ocala Forest 78 5
Lily Frierson, Tampa Plant 74 4
Alysia Fingall, Mosley 57 0
Breanah Rives, Seacrest Country Day 31 1
Taylor Parks, Clearwater Calvary Christian 29 0
Taylor-Reese Howell, Sneads 25 2

Past Winners:
2020 – Paris Thompson, Fort Myers
2019 – Annie Cate Fitzpatrick, Ocala Trinity Catholic
2018 – Savannah Vach, Oviedo
2017 – Marlie Monserez, Orlando Bishop Moore
2016 – Stephanie Samedy, Clermont East Ridge
2015 – Payton Caffrey, Winter Springs
2014 – Courtney Furlong, Oviedo
2013 – Christina Ambrose, Winter Park
2012 – Lindsey Owens, Orlando Bishop Moore
2011 – Jordan Burgess, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2010 – Jordan Burgess, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2009 – Elise Walch, Stuart Martin County
2008 – Jessica Yingling, Orlando Timber Creek
2007 – Kellie Catanach, Tampa Plant
2006 – Ruthie King, Winter Park Lake Howell
2005 – Janet Okagbaa, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
2004 – Foluke Akinradewo, Ft. Lauderdale St. Thomas Aquinas
2003 – Michelle Staulbaum, Gainesville
2002 – Marcie Hampton, Gainesville P.K. Yonge
2001 – Julia Caner, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
2000 – Taylor Williams, Gainesville
1999 – Delavane Diaz, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory
1998 – Kristen Blatt, Venice
1997 – Lauren Westervelt, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
1996 – Jennifer Werrick, Lakeland George Jenkins
1995 – Sandra Reboucas, Orlando Cypress Creek
1994 – Jamie Velentzas, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1993 – Coleen Crocco, Ft. Lauderdale Cardinal Gibbons
1992 – Kelly Flannigan, Tampa Berkeley Preparatory

Related articles

Recent articles