67.4 F

Academy at the Lakes Standout Lexi Kilfoyl Named 2018 Miss Softball


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 13) – Junior pitcher Lexi Kilfoyl of Academy at the Lakes has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2018 Miss Softball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

Kilfoyl, who has committed to the University of Alabama and is a member of the USA National Junior Softball Team, paced her squad to its first state title with a sparkling 23-1 record while posting an amazing 0.32 earned run average.

She struck out 249 batters with only 12 walks in 154 innings pitched. She finished with a .482 batting average, five home runs and 35 runs batted in and capped off her season by pitching a complete-game shutout and driving in the winning run in her team’s 11-inning state title game victory over Aucilla Christian.

Kilfoyl, who previously was selected as the Class 2A Player of the Year, tallied 87 points and garnered seven of the 18 first-place votes to edge out Class 8A POY Ashley Worrell of Hagerty, who had five first-place votes and 72 points. Finishing in third with two first-place votes and 48 points was Class 7A POY Alyssa Humphrey of Gainesville followed by Class 4A POY Victoria Perez of Westminster Christian (43), Class 1A POY Brianna Bailey of Wewahitchka (36) and Class 6A POY Ashley Troutman of Arnold (34). Rounding out the voting were Class 5A POY Emily Estroff of Coral Springs Charter (31), Class 9A POY Lauren Margolis of Palmetto (30) and Class 3A POY Savannah Farkas of Northside Christian (5).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 26th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2018 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis) – Area players in bold
Player Total Points 1st-place votes
Lexi Kilfoyl, Academy at the Lakes 87 7
Ashley Worrell, Hagerty 72 5
Alyssa Humphrey, Gainesville 48 2
Victoria Perez, Westminster Christian 43 1
Brianna Bailey, Wewahitchka 36 1
Ashley Troutman, Arnold 34 1
Emily Estroff, Coral Springs Charter 31 0
Lauren Margolis, Palmetto 30 1
Savannah Farkas, Northside Christian 5 0

Past Miss Softball Winners:

1993 – Jodi Hughes, Palmetto (Fast Pitch)
Mary Babb, Barron Collier (Slow Pitch)
1994 – Jean Bonnici, Naples
1995 – Monica Triner, East Bay
1996 – Michelle Moschel, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Jacksonville Mandarin
1998 – Jennifer Gladding, Martin County
1999 – Jennifer Joiner, Bell
2000 – Claire Sua, St. Thomas Aquinas
2001 – Julie Henneke, Sickles
2002 – Erin Horn, Tallahassee Leon
2003 – Stacey Stevens, Gainesville Buchholz
2004 – Allison Kime, Valrico Bloomingdale
2005 – Dani Hofer, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek
2007 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek
2008 – Kelly Saco, Miami Palmetto
2009 – Erin Schuppert, Neptune Beach Fletcher
2010 – Kasey Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Emily Sanders, Bartow
2012 – Shelby Turnier, Palm Beach Gardens
2013 – Stephanie Texeira, Gulliver Preparatory School
2014 – Korina Rosario, West Florida
2015 – Morgan White, Ocala Forest 
2016—Lauren Mathis, West Orange
2017 – Ally Muraskin, Coral Springs Charter

Related articles

Recent articles