73.1 F

2016 Florida Dairy Farmers Softball Coach of the Year – Todd LaNeave (West Orange)


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerWest Orange’s Todd LaNeave Named 2016 Softball Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (May 23) – Todd LaNeave of West Orange High School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2016 Softball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

In his third year at West Orange, LaNeave guided the Warriors to a 31-1 record and the 2016 Class 9A state championship. This year’s magical run was capped by a convincing 6-0 win over Alonso in the state final after a dominating 11-1 victory over Western in the state semifinals. In his three years at West Orange, LaNeave has an 80-11 record.

LaNeave, who previously was selected as the Class 9A COY, won the overall award with eight of the 18 first-place votes and 141 points, to finish ahead of Class 7A COY Pete Mariano of Gainesville (115) and Class 6A COY Marty Cooper of Plantation American Heritage (105). Class 5A COY Mark Montimurro of Coral Springs Charter (101) finished fourth, followed in order by Class 8A COY Donna Byars of Bartow (94), Class 1A COY Wayne Weatherford of Chiefland (92), Class 2A COY Becky Lauth of Aucilla Christian (60), Class 3A COY Sue Wilsman of Lakeland Christian (58) and Class 4A COY Pablo Plaza of Bishop Verot (50).

All nine finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 24th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2016 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) – Area winners in bold

Coach Total Points 1st-place votes
Todd LaNeave, West Orange 141 8
Pete Mariano, Gainesville 115 3
Marty Cooper, American Heritage 105 3
Mark Montimurro, Coral Springs Charter 101 0
Donna Byars, Bartow 94 1
Wayne Weatherford, Chiefland 92 2
Becky Lauth, Aucilla Christian (Monticello) 60 1
Sue Wilsman, Lakeland Christian 58 0
Pablo Plaza, Bishop Verot 50 0

Past Softball Coaches of the Year:

1993 – Jean King, Niceville (Slow Pitch)
Marilyn Bevetta, Ridgewood (Fast Pitch)
1994 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1995 – Leslie Black, Cardinal Mooney
1996 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Mandarin (Jacksonville)
1998 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
1999 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2000 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2001 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2002 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2003 – Becker Downie, Miami Palmetto
2004 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2005 – Chuck Poetter, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2007 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2008 – Coy Adkins, Wewahitchka
2009 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2010 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Danny Hensley, Niceville
2012 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2013 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2014 – Amanda Schuerman, Bloomingdale
2015 – Melinda Wyatt, Tate

Related articles

Recent articles