81.9 F

Seminole’s Eric Lodge Named 2020 Football Coach-of-the-Year


GAINESVILLE (January 13) – Eric Lodge of Seminole High School has been named the 2020 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

In his first year as a head coach, Lodge, who was previously selected as the Class 8A Coach-of-the-Year, led his team to a 12-0 record and the Class 8A state championship. Prior to taking over the head coaching position, Lodge served four years as Seminole’s defensive coordinator.

Lodge garnered 14 first-place votes and 183 points to finish ahead of Class 1A Coach-of-the-Year Matt Brunson of Baker, who picked up seven first-place votes and 116 points to finish as the runnerup.

Class 3A COY Verlon Dorminey of Trinity Christian (52) finished third followed by Class 6A COY Walter Banks of Lake Minneola (48), Class 5A COY Quintin Lewis of Rickards (39) and Class 7A COY Cameron Duke of Edgewater (37). Rounding out the voting were Class 4A COY Matt DuBuc of Cardinal Gibbons (36), Class 2A COY Hector Clavijo of Champagnat Catholic (15) and Independent COY Guerschom Demosthenes of Orlando Christian Prep (10).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 29th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2020 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Area winners in bold

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes
Eric Lodge, Seminole 183 14
Matt Brunson, Baker 116 7
Verlon Dorminey, Trinity Christian (Jacksonville) 52 1
Walter Banks, Lake Minneola 48 1
Quintin Lewis, Rickards 39
Cameron Duke, Edgewater 37 1
Matt DuBuc, Cardinal Gibbons 36
Hector Clavijo, Champagnat Catholic 15 1
Guerschom Demosthenes, OCP 10 1

Past Football Coaches of the Year:
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Jacksonville Sandalwood
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Union County
1997 – Danny Green, Lake City Columbia
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa
2010 – Dale Salapa, Orlando Dr. Phillips
2011 – Robert Craft, Tallahassee North Florida Christian
2012 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2013 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – Tim Harris, Jr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2015 – Deran Wiley, Jacksonville Raines
2016 – Billy Rolle, Southridge
2017 – John Peacock, Venice
2018 – Bobby Ramsey, Jacksonville Mandarin
2019 – Cameron Duke, Edgewater

Related articles

Recent articles