79.1 F

Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football


First Coast’s De’Andre Johnson Named 2014 Mr. Football

For Immediate Release
Contact: Jim Harvin at 352-727-4104 or jimharvin@gmail.com ● www.floridamilk.com

Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

GAINESVILLE (December 15) – Senior quarterback De’Andre Johnson of First Coast High School in Jacksonville has been named the 2014 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Johnson, who was previously selected as the Class 8A Player of the Year, completed 215-of-328 passes for 3,710 yards and 47 touchdowns, the latter mark breaking 2005 Mr. Football Tim Tebow’s single-season area record. Johnson was intercepted only nine times and rushed for 398 yards and nine TDs in helping the 12-1 Buccaneers reach the regional final, where in his final game, he threw a school-record seven TD passes in a loss to eventual state champion Apopka.

As a four-year starter, Johnson, a Florida State verbal commitment and early enrollee, compiled a 46-5 record with 11,697 career passing yards and 131 TDs while adding 23 career rushing TDs.

Johnson topped the voting among our eight finalists, all Players of the Year in their respective classes, with 181 points to win the overall award in a very close race over Class 7A POY and Clemson commit Tucker Israel of Orlando Lake Nona (172) and Class 6A POY Byron Cowart of Seffner Armwood (163). Rounding out this year’s voting were Class 5A POY and Ohio State commit Torrance Gibson from Plantation American Heritage (116), Class 4A POY and Alabama commit Ronnie Harrison of Florida High (102), Class 2A POY Caleb Lewis from Lakeland
Victory Christian and Class 3A POY Brandon Ziarno of Melbourne Central Catholic (tie, 98 each), and Class 1A POY Jarkeice Davis of Port St. Joe (96).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports.  The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2014 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis)
Player Total Points 1st-place Votes

De’Andre Johnson 181 8
Tucker Israel 172 6
Byron Cowart 163 4
Torrance Gibson 116 3
Ronnie Harrison 102 2
Caleb Lewis (tie) 98 3
Brandon Ziarno 98 1
Jarkeice Davis 96 1

Past Mr. Football recipients (area winners in bold)
1992 – Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 – Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 – Daunte Culpepper, Vanguard (Ocala)
1995 – Frankie Franklin, Sandalwood (Jacksonville)
1996 – Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 – Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 – Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 – Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 – Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 – Leon Washington, Jackson (Jacksonville)
2002 – Andre Reese, Taylor (Pierson)
2003 – Xavier Lee, Seabreeze (Daytona Beach)
2004 – Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Nease (Ponte Vedra Beach)
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer
2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson
2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland
2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School
2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington

Related articles

Recent articles