67.4 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers softball coach of the year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerTate’s Melinda Wyatt Named 2015 Softball Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (June 4) – Melinda Wyatt of Tate High School in Cantonment has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Softball Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and media representatives.

In her 11th year at Tate, Wyatt guided the Aggies to a 27-4 record and the 2015 Class 7A state championship, the first state softball title in school history. This year’s magical run was capped by a convincing 8-1 win over Sarasota in the state final after a dominating 7-1 victory over perennial power Bartow in the state semifinals. Wyatt also led Tate to the Final Four in 2013 and has a career record of 201-97.

Wyatt, who previously was selected as the Class 7A COY, won the overall award with 134 points, just enough to slip past Class 6A COY Pam Silvestre of Ocala Forest (130) and Class 4A COY Mark Montimurro of Coral Springs Charter (126). Class 5A COY Franklin Griffis of Baker County (85) finished fourth, followed in order by Class 8A COY Autumn Dunn of Newsome (75), Class 1A COY Wayne Weatherford of Chiefland (64), Class 3A COY Sue Wilsman of Lakeland Christian (61) and Class 2A COY Becky Lauth of Aucilla Christian (54). All eight finalists led their teams to state titles.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis) (Area winners in bold)

Coach Total Points 1st-place votes
Melinda Wyatt, Tate 134 6
Pam Silvestre, Forest (Ocala) 130 4
Mark Montimurro, Coral Springs Ch. 126 6
Franklin Griffis, Baker County (Glen St. Mary) 85 0
Autumn Dunn, Newsome 75 1
Wayne Weatherford, Chiefland 64 1
Sue Wilsman, Lakeland Christian 61 0
Becky Lauth, Aucilla Christian (Monticello) 54 1

Past Softball Coaches of the Year:

1993 – Jean King, Niceville (Slow Pitch)
Marilyn Bevetta, Ridgewood (Fast Pitch)
1994 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1995 – Leslie Black, Cardinal Mooney
1996 – Robert Iamurri, Naples
1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Mandarin (Jacksonville)
1998 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
1999 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2000 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2001 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2002 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2003 – Becker Downie, Miami Palmetto
2004 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2005 – Chuck Poetter, Palm Harbor University
2006 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow
2007 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep
2008 – Coy Adkins, Wewahitchka
2009 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2010 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon
2011 – Danny Hensley, Niceville
2012 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory
2013 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas
2014 – Amanda Schuerman, Bloomingdale

Related articles

Recent articles