84.7 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerNature Coast’s DeShawn Smith Named 2015 Mr. Football

GAINESVILLE (December 15) – Senior running back DeShawn Smith of Nature Coast Technical High School in Brooksville has been named the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

Smith, who was previously selected as the Class 5A Player of the Year, rushed for a state-leading 3,715 yards on 241 carries (15.4 yards per carry) while averaging 286 rushing yards per game over his 13-game season.  He scored a state-record 66 touchdowns (60 rushing, five receiving, one fumble return), shattering the mark of 55 set by Heisman Trophy-winning and 2012 Florida Mr. Football Derrick Henry and also shattered Henry’s single-season scoring record (336 points) with 408 points.  The 5-8, 185-pounder’s 2015 rushing total was the third-best in Florida prep history behind Derrick Henry (4,261) and 1996 Florida Mr. Football Travis Henry (4,087) and ranks as the 10th best mark in national prep football history.

Smith scored an overwhelming victory over the other seven finalists, all Players of the Year in their respective classes, with 15 of the 21 first-place votes and 188 points overall. In a tight race for the runner-up spot, Class 6A POY N’Kosi Perry of Ocala Vanguard (111 points) edged out Class 8A POY Woody Barrett of West Orange (110). Class 7A POY Tre Nixon of Viera (101) finished fourth followed by Class 1A POY Hamp Cheevers of Trenton (96), Class 3A POY Billy Cobb of Trinity Christian (81), Class 4A POY Henry Columbi of University School and Class 2A POY Avery Thomas of North Florida Christian (39).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 24th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes (Area winners in bold)

DeShawn Smith – Nature Coast (Brooksville) 188 15
N’Kosi Perry – Vanguard (Ocala) 111 2
Woody Barrett 110 2
Tre Nixon 101
Hamp Cheevers – Trenton 96 2
Billy Cobb – Trinity Christian (Jacksonville) 81
Henry Columbi 77
Avery Thomas 39

Past Mr. Football Winners:
1992 – Jammi German, Ft. Myers
1993 – Shevin Wiggins, Bradenton Manatee
1994 – Daunte Culpepper, Vanguard (Ocala)
1995 – Frankie Franklin, Sandalwood (Jacksonville)
1996 – Travis Henry, Frostproof
1997 – Zain Gilmore, Tampa Robinson
1998 – Anquan Boldin, Pahokee
1999 – Willie Green, Kissimmee Osceola
2000 – Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast
2001 – Leon Washington, Jackson (Jacksonville)
2002 – Andre Reese, Taylor (Pierson)
2003 – Xavier Lee, Seabreeze (Daytona Beach)
2004 – Antone Smith, Pahokee
2005 – Tim Tebow, Nease (Ponte Vedra)
2006 – Robert Marve, Tampa Plant
2007 – Jacory Harris, Miami Northwestern
2008 – A.J. Graham, Tallahassee Godby
2009 – Matt Elam, William T. Dwyer
2010 – Quentin Williams, Tampa Jefferson
2011 – Randy “Duke” Johnson, Miami Norland
2012 – Derrick Henry, Yulee High School
2013 – Dalvin Cook, Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – D’Andre Johnson, First Coast (Jacksonville)

Related articles

Recent articles