89.2 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release

Contact: David Stirt at 352-332-3778 or dstirt@bellsouth.net● www.floridamilk.com

The Bolles School’s Tracy Named Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (March 20) – Matt Tracy of Bolles (Jacksonville), who guided his team to a 24-3-4 record and the Class 2A state championship, has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Girls’ Soccer Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of girls’ high school soccer coaches and media representatives.

This year’s state title was the first for Bolles since 2008. In his 10 years at Bolles, Tracy has led the Bulldogs to seven Final Four appearances and has compiled an overall record of 202-52-18 at Bolles.

Tracy, who was previously selected as the Class 2A Coach of the Year, finished with 144 points in winning this year’s award. Finishing second was Class 4A COY Courtney Lundy, who tallied 129 points after guiding Viera to the state title. Class 5A COY Carlos Giron (106), who led St. Thomas Aquinas to its second straight state title, finished third in the voting followed by Class 1A COY Mike Pickett (84) of St. John’s Country Day and Class 3A COY Vicky King (57) from Land O’ Lakes.

The Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. In their 23rd year, these unique awards honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5-3-1 basis)

Coach 1 2 3 4 5 Total
Matt Tracy 8 5 4 3 0 144
Courtney Lundy 7 4 3 5 1 129
Carlos Giron 2 5 8 3 2 106
Mike Pickett 2 5 3 5 7 84
Vicky King 1 1 4 8 10 57

Past Girls’ Soccer Coach Winners (Area winners in bold)
1993 – Carlos Giron, St. Thomas Aquinas
1994 – Gary Bennett, Longwood Lyman
1995 – Frank Adsit, Jacksonville Bolles
1996 – Rod Kenney, Orange Park
1997 – Carlos Giron, St. Thomas Aquinas
1998 – Bill Eissele, Lake Mary
1999 – Kenny Morgan, Pensacola Washington
2000 – Dean Johnson, Lakeland Christian
2001 – Mike Lagow, Gulf Breeze
2002 – Mike Lagow, Gulf Breeze
2003 – Laura Rountree, Parkland Douglas
2004 – Fidgi Haig, Satellite
2005 – Laura Rountree, Parkland Douglas
2006 – Laura Rountree, Parkland Douglas
2007 – Brett Terry, Satellite
2008 – Joe Lenard, Lakeland George Jenkins
2009 – John Planamenta, Palm Harbor University
2010 – Scott Carswell, Merritt Island
2011 – Everton Edwards, Gulliver Prep
2012 – Mike Pickett, Orange Park St. John’s Country Day
2013 – Rosanna Lord, Melbourne
2014 – Rosanna Lord, Melbourne

Related articles

Recent articles