73.1 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerDeran Wiley Named 2015 Football Coach-of-the-Year

GAINESVILLE (December 15) – Deran Wiley of Raines High School in Jacksonville has been named the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Football Coach-of-the-Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school football coaches and media representatives.

In his seventh season as head coach, Wiley, who was earlier named the Class 4A Coach of the Year, guided a program that went 2-8 the year before his arrival and led it to a state runnerup finish in 2015.  In posting a 12-2 record, Raines knocked off Jacksonville Bolles in the regional final, ending that school’s four-year run as a state finalist and beat Alachua Santa Fe in the state semifinals before falling to three-time defending state champion Miami Washington in the state championship game.

In a close three-way battle for this year’s award, Wiley tallied 125 points to finish ahead of Class 8A Coach-of-the-Year Doug Nichols of Osceola (119) and Class 7A COY Curt Bradley of Braden River (114).  Rounding out the voting were Class 1A COY Andrew Thomas of Trenton (107), Class 5A COY Matt Hedrick of Bishop Moore (105), Class 6A COY Sean Callahan of Armwood (92), Class 3A COY Verlon Dorminey of Trinity Christian (86), Class 2A COY Bob Dare of Cambridge Christian (74) and Independent COY Matt DiBernardo of Oak Hall School (47).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This marks the 24th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis)

Player Total Points 1st-place Votes (Area winners in bold)

Deran Wiley – Raines (Jacksonville) 125 5
Doug Nichols 119 5
Curt Bradley 114 5
Andrew Thomas – Trenton 107 1
Matt Hedrick 105 2
Sean Callahan 92
Verlon Dorminey – Trinity Christian (Jacksonville) 86 1
Bob Dare 74 1
Matt DiBernardo – Oak Hall (Gainesville) 47

Past Football Coaches of the Year:
1992 – Wally Dunne, Coral Springs
1993 – Paul Maechtle, Bradenton Southeast
1994 – Rod Shafer, Lake Wales
1995 – Bob Withrow, Sandalwood (Jacksonville)
1996 – Robby Pruitt, Union County (Lake Butler)
1997 – Danny Green, Columbia (Lake City)
1998 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
1999 – Milton Watson, Glades Central
2000 – Nick Coleman, Venice
2001 – Al Morrell, Clewiston
2002 – Richard Wood, Tampa Wharton
2003 – Bill Kramer, Naples
2004 – Bill Castle, Lakeland
2005 – Joey Wiles, St. Augustine
2006 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2007 – Billy Rolle, Miami Northwestern
2008 – Robert Weiner, Tampa Plant
2009 – John Wilkinson, Cocoa
2010 – Dale Salapa, Orlando Dr. Phillips
2011 – Robert Craft, Tallahassee North Florida Christian
2012 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2013 – Tim Harris, Sr., Miami Booker T. Washington
2014 – Tim Harris, Jr., Miami Booker T. Washington

Related articles

Recent articles