58.8 F

2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year


Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerAmerica’s longest-running program recognizing excellence in high school athletics

For Immediate Release
Contact: David Stirt @ 352-332-3778 or dstirt@bellsouth.net ● www.floridamilk.com

Choctawhatchee’s McDaniel Named 2015 Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year

GAINESVILLE (March 24) – Chris McDaniel of Choctawhatchee High School has been named the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Boys’ Soccer Coach of the Year following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school boys’ soccer coaches and media representatives.

McDaniel, who was previously named the Class 3A Coach of the Year, led the Big Green Indians to the state’s only unbeaten record (30-0-1), concluding with a 1-0 overtime victory over 2014 state champ Merritt Island in this year’s state championship game. In his 11 seasons at Choctawhatchee, McDaniel has advanced to the Final Four four times with two runnerup finishes prior to winning the school’s first state title this year.

McDaniel tallied 106 points in winning this year’s award, with Class 4A COY Byran Wilkinson of state champion Tallahasse Chiles a close second with 101 points. Class 2A COY Martin Asorey of state champion Gulliver Prep was third with 95 points, followed by Class 1A COY Jeff Johnson (87) of state champion Organgewood Christian and Class 5A COY Colin Ilgner (53) of state champion Cypress Bay.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 23rd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2015 FINAL VOTING RESULTS (Note: Points awarded on a 10-7-5-3-1 basis)
Coach 1 2 3 4 5 Total

Chris McDaniel 7 3 1 2 4 106
Bryan Wilkinson 4 4 4 4 1 101
Martin Asorey 4 4 3 3 3 95
Jeff Johnson 2 6 3 2 4 87
Colin Ilgner 0 0 6 6 5 53

PAST BOYS’ SOCCER COACH WINNERS (Area winners in bold)
1993 – Dave Zimmerman, Tampa Berkeley Prep
1994 – Jerry McCabe, Melbourne
1995 – Santiago Molina, Tallahassee Lincoln
1996 – Santiago Molina, Tallahassee Lincoln
1997 – Bob Bauman, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Kevin Brown, Neptune Beach Fletcher
1999 – Jim Willenborg, Hialeah American
2000 – Adrian Bush, Tampa Gaither
2001 – Bob Bauman, Tampa Jesuit
2002 – Darrin Karuzas, Boca Raton Olympic Heights
2003 – Allen Ware, Brandon
2004 – Dave Zimmerman, Tampa Berkeley Prep
2005 – Jay Flipse, Miami Sunset
2006 – David Sica, Clearwater Countryside
2007 – Matias Asorey, Miami Varela
2008 – Jose DaCosta, Tampa Prep
2009 – Jerry McCabe, Melbourne
2010 – Jerry McCabe, Melbourne
2011 – Jobie Hughes, St. Thomas Aquinas
2012 – Juan (John) Ramos, Weston Cypress Bay
2013 – Daniel Villarreal, Ponte Vedra
2014 – Michael Stewart, Christopher Columbus

Related articles

Recent articles