Orange City University’s Logan Allen Named 2017 Mr. Baseball

Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 19) – Senior pitcher Logan Allen of University High School in Orange City has been selected as the Florida Dairy Farmers 2017 Mr. Baseball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

Allen, who has signed to play baseball at Florida International University, led his team to the Class 9A state championship game with a 13-0 record and an 0.35 earned run average, striking out 151 batters in 81 innings pitched. He also had a .450 batting average and drove in 22 runs while playing the outfield when he wasn’t pitching.

Allen, who previously was selected the Class 9A Player of the Year, tallied 128 points and garnered nine of the 19 first-place votes in winning this year’s overall award. Finishing as runner-up was Class 6A POY Joe Perez of Archbishop McCarthy (102), while Class 3A POY Sam Keating of Canterbury (54) finished third. Rounding out the voting were, Class 5A POY Trevor Kniskern of Pompano Beach (37), Class 7A POY Shane Roberts of Dwyer (31), Class 4A POY Nolan Hudi of Clearwater Calvary Christian (24), Class 2A POY Trenton Brickhouse of Deltona Trinity Christian (10), Class 8A POY Austin Pollock of Lincoln (7) and Class 1A POY Trent Simmons of Trenton (5).

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 25th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in all 30 FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis) – Area winners in bold
Player Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Logan Allen, University (Orange City) 128 9
Joe Perez, Archbishop McCarthy 102 6
Sam Keating, Canterbury 54 3
Trevor Kniskern, Pompano Beach 37 0
Shane Roberts, Dwyer 31 0
Nolan Hudi, Calvary Christian 24 0
Trenton Brickhouse, Trinity Christian 10 1
Austin Pollock, Lincoln 7 0
Trent Simmons, Trenton 5 0

Past Mr. Baseball Winners:
1993 – Alex Rodriguez, Miami Westminster
1994 – Doug Million, Sarasota
1995 – Doug Blosser, Sarasota
1996 – Nick Stocks, Tampa Jesuit
1997 – Geoff Geotz, Tampa Jesuit
1998 – Felipe Lopez, Lake Brantley
1999 – Bobby Bradley, Wellington
2000 – Tony Richie, Bishop Kenny (Jacksonville)
2001 – Casey Kotchman, Seminole
2002 – Edgar Ramirez, Miami Southridge
2003 – James Houser, Sarasota
2004 – Warren McFadden, Davie Nova
2005 – Andrew McCutchen, Fort Meade
2006 – Max Sapp, Orlando Bishop Moore
2007 – Michael Main, Deland
2008 – Casey Kelly, Sarasota
2009 – Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey Mitchell
2010 – C. T. Bradford, Pace
2011 – Jose Fernandez, Tampa Alonso
2012 – Lance McCullers, Jr., Tampa Jesuit
2013 – Tyler Danish, Plant City
2014 – Brian Gonzalez, Archbishop McCarthy
2015 – Dillon Brown, Mosley
2016—Bo Bichette, Lakewood