McComb, McCray Named Top Track and Field Coaches

Sports-Award-Logo_Color_Florida Dairy FarmerGAINESVILLE (June 2) – Chris McComb of Miramar High School and Erin McCray of Miami Southridge High School have been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2017 Boys’ and Girls’ Track and Field Coaches of the Year following a final round of voting by a panel of state high school track and field coaches and media representatives.

McComb, the Boys’ Class 4A Coach-of-the-Year, is in his fourth year at Miramar and led the program to its first state championship with a solid 20-point win (70-50) over runnerup Miami Columbus. Prior to this year, Miramar had only one top five finish in school history, a fifth-place finish in 2014, McComb’s first year at the school.

McComb won this year’s overall award with 81 points, finishing ahead of Class 3A COY Darryl Elmore of Miami Northwestern (76), Class 1A COY A.J. Brown of St. Stephens (52) and Class 2A COY John Battle of Hallandale (36).

McCray, the Girls’ Class 4A COY, led his squad to a dominating team victory, posting 90 points to finish well ahead of state runnerup St. Thomas Aquinas (54.5).

McCray won this year’s award with 77 points, beating out Class 3A COY and seven-time state coach-of-the-year Carmen Jackson of Northwestern (61), Class 2A COY Dan Dearing of The Bolles School (54) and Class 1A COY Edwin McTureous of Oak Hall School (41).

The Florida Dairy Farmers Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 25th year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in an all-time high 30 sanctioned and recognized FHSAA sports. The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

2017 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Boys’ Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Chris McComb, Miramar 81 6
Darryl Elmore, Northwestern 76 5
A.J. Brown, St. Stephens 52 1
John Battle, Hallandale 36 0

Girls’ Coach Total Points 1st-Place Votes
Erin McCray, Southridge 77 5
Carmen Jackson, Northwestern 61 3
Dan Dearing, Bolles (Jacksonville) 54 4
Edwin McTureous, Oak Hall (Gainesville) 41 0